Buttermilk Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Tried these this morning, husband loved them! I did substitute bread flour for self-rising and added more baking powder and salt. Someone mentioned having trouble with the bottoms burning...let me suggest using a baking stone, works great and no burning. I'll definitely make these again, and next time I'm going to try butter-flavor shortening, I think some butter flavor is really the only thing these are lacking, but that's also a matter of personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Amazing!! They were more moist than I had expected them to be, which made me nervous, but in the end, they really are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leezard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Pleased with outcome for first time ever making homemade biscuits. Recipe needs some tweaking though. Were excellent with cream gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wesdawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
AWESOME, easy recipe! I took Evelyn in KC's advice since I don't have self-rising flour on hand and the biscuits were sensational! I did brush the tops with melted butter rather than buttermilk and my family is in agreement that this is a definite keep of a recipe. I will cut the salt down to 1 1/2 t next time I make this as they were just a tad bit salty...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Excellent & easy...enough said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I wish I had taken the time to read the reviews, definitely needed the salt!! Very bland and tasteless without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This is a good basic biscuit recipe. As other people have posted, I added 2 tsp. of salt and 2 tsp. of baking powder to all-purpose flour instead of using self-rising flour. I also used butter in place of the shortening. I froze about 2/3 of the biscuits before baking, so hopefully they turn out as nice as the fresh ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This is my all-time favorite biscuit recipe. I prefer to use unsalted butter instead of the lard for nutritional reasons as well as using the site's recipe for self-rising flour and substituting with homemade baking powder made from baking soda and cream of tartar. They freeze and cook well, if slightly flatter and domed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I made this recipe with advice from previous reviewers. I used all purpose flour (and the extra 2 tsp. baking powder), made them into drop biscuits (because the dough was very sticky), and brushed the tops with melted butter before cooking. The taste was fabulous, and the texture was light and fluffy. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I mix all dry ingredients then take out 1/2 cup to work in while I am rolling them out. worked great still had leftover flour. I flatten them out, then fold over and over. The dough should be light and workable. THats why you hold out the flour. I had no problem with sticky dough..Put them touching on the pan and they will rise good. I use an iron skillet. I seperated the dough and added colby cheese chunks and a sprinkle of garlic to half..delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkins, West Virginia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States