Buttermilk Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Peggy
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I have been trying for all ten years of my marriage to find a good recipe and this is it! Thanks for posting and thanks everyone for all the tips! Use shortening, self-rising flour, use buttermilk and don't over work. I love these and so does my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Yeah! Never in my life have I been able to make biscuits, and I'm a good cook, UNTIL I tried this recipe. Everyone was pleased. Perfect. I did follow another's tip to refrigerate the dough for several hours. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
No flavor, very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I'd give them 5 stars if they'd had risen more. And I patted the dough to at least 3/4"-1" thick. The flavor, however, was great. The bottoms were kind of crispy, but not in a bad way. I baked them on a silpat-type sheet, so they didn't stick. As per other raters, I brushed the tops with melted butter and not buttermilk. The inside of the biscuit was so light and delicious. This was the first time I've ever made buttermilk biscuits (with real buttermilk), and if I ever happen to have buttermilk on hand again, I'll try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
These biscuits were amazing. I've never made biscuits so big before. I followed the recipe as is except I brushed the biscuits with melted butter. My kids and husband loved them. Will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I didn't have buttermilk so I used buttermilk powder. They didn't turn out too good, way too sticky, but I think that is because of the buttermilk powder. I ended up making drop biscuits and even though the dough was sticky, the biscuits were way too dry. I will try these again and re-post soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollys Taylor Made Treats

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Attica, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I liked the shape and size of the biscuits. They remind me of what my mother's biscuits looked like, but there is no flavor in these biscuits. It definately needs some salt. They might work good for biscuits and gravy or possibly for making a dressing for turkey, but not to just enjoy a biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
These biscuits had no flavor what's so ever. They were lacking salt which made them flat in taste. I gave them one star because they did come out fluffy and tender. They look great but taste aweful. If you make this recipe make sure you add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by babeegerl83
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I used the all-purpose flour suggestion of 4c. all purpose flour, 2t. salt, 2t. baking powder. I also used parchment paper and brushed the tops with unsalted butter. I may have overworked my dough, and letting it sit on parchment paper may have been a good idea as suggested, but they were absolutely delicious, especially with spricot preserves spread on top, as pictured :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Taste just like Moms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States