Buttermilk Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olga F
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Very good recipe..but I did tweek it...I added salt, pepper and one extra tsp of baking powder...mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tambam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vilonia, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Just didn't like the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I love to bake biscuits and have several recipes but decided to try out a new one. These biscuits were awful! They looked great and browned nicely but they did not have a good taste at all. My husband gave the thumbs down and so did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Wonderful, flakey biscuits, they are great straight from the oven, or cold, this is what I'm using for biscuits and gravy from now on! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
These biscuits are the best! Light and fluffy. Almost like my mamaw's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
These biscuits are AWESOME! I did as another reviewer suggested and added extra baking powder and salt to my regular all purpose flour mixture and they came out perfect. I do not bother rolling them out, I just spoon in heap on to sheet. They were dense but fluffy, and crispy on outside but moist on inside, just the recipe I was searching for. Perfect to serve with creamed chipped beef or sausage gravy, or just with a pat of butter or just by themselves. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngloSaxonGyrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Way too much buttermilk in the miixture. The first batch was a useless heap. Tried again , reducing the buttermilk by 1/4 cup, better but still way to wet. Taste of baking soda is overpowering. My better half asked me NOT to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I suppose if I used self rising flower, they might have been better. I only had bisquick on hand and I really needed to use my buttermilk. (it was fresh that I had from making butter) I cut recipe in half and used 2tsp of baking powder b/c Bisquick already has a leavening agent in it. I used a whole tablespoon of sugar and a cup of buttermilk and followed the rest of the directions the same. I normally follow recipes as written before I review them, but in case youaree in a pinch like I was, then you should still get good results. It's still not quite what I am looking for in a biscuit, but better than any I have done so far. Oh and they taste even better with my fresh made whipped butter on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wenonah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Peggy
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I have been trying for all ten years of my marriage to find a good recipe and this is it! Thanks for posting and thanks everyone for all the tips! Use shortening, self-rising flour, use buttermilk and don't over work. I love these and so does my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States