Buttermilk Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Well, I know how to cook biscuits, but for some reason I'm forgetting stuff all the time or not putting the right ratio of flour to shortening. Or sometimes I forget the baking powder and baking soda too. So, listen I think you have to add a half cup of sugar to these 4 cups of flour. And if your flour is already salty or you are using baking soda don't add any more salt. Especially if you're using butter milk. Now if you're having taste issues you can use butter instead of shortening or lard(animal fat). That should give you the light buttery goodness you seek. Or you can brush with butter once you pull the biscuits out of the oven. And are you browning the biscuits. Don't just use the oven bake use the broil setting for 5minutes. I gave it a five, because it has the ratios I need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olga F
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Very good recipe..but I did tweek it...I added salt, pepper and one extra tsp of baking powder...mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tambam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vilonia, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Just didn't like the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I love to bake biscuits and have several recipes but decided to try out a new one. These biscuits were awful! They looked great and browned nicely but they did not have a good taste at all. My husband gave the thumbs down and so did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Wonderful, flakey biscuits, they are great straight from the oven, or cold, this is what I'm using for biscuits and gravy from now on! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
These biscuits are the best! Light and fluffy. Almost like my mamaw's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
These biscuits are AWESOME! I did as another reviewer suggested and added extra baking powder and salt to my regular all purpose flour mixture and they came out perfect. I do not bother rolling them out, I just spoon in heap on to sheet. They were dense but fluffy, and crispy on outside but moist on inside, just the recipe I was searching for. Perfect to serve with creamed chipped beef or sausage gravy, or just with a pat of butter or just by themselves. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngloSaxonGyrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Way too much buttermilk in the miixture. The first batch was a useless heap. Tried again , reducing the buttermilk by 1/4 cup, better but still way to wet. Taste of baking soda is overpowering. My better half asked me NOT to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I suppose if I used self rising flower, they might have been better. I only had bisquick on hand and I really needed to use my buttermilk. (it was fresh that I had from making butter) I cut recipe in half and used 2tsp of baking powder b/c Bisquick already has a leavening agent in it. I used a whole tablespoon of sugar and a cup of buttermilk and followed the rest of the directions the same. I normally follow recipes as written before I review them, but in case youaree in a pinch like I was, then you should still get good results. It's still not quite what I am looking for in a biscuit, but better than any I have done so far. Oh and they taste even better with my fresh made whipped butter on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wenonah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States