Buttermilk Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
All I can say about these are "WONDERFUL!" I had been looking for a recipe that tasted like old fashioned biscuits and this was it. The only thing I changed was brushing the tops with butter instead of buttermilk. We loved the buttery salty taste on top of the biscuits. These rose beautifully. Looked like the ones on TV. Picture and taste perfect. OH and these freeze great! I tested them. I got to the cut dough part and froze individually on a sheet and put in bag. Then when I wanted a couple I just put directly in oven and baked as instructed. Yum!!!! Thank Sandra for posting this recipe. Sherry from Tennessee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
Thank you Saundra, you are right, the biscuits are easy and delicious but you forgot one thing... they are addictive..MMMMMM SO GOOD TOO Everyone enjoyed them, will make them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2001
These biscuits are delicious! I've tried many recipes to find the perfect texture and these are the ones! I used heavy cream instead of buttermilk. I also let them sit on the sheet pan for about a half hour before baking and that caused them to puff a little and rise very nicely when baked. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2001
GREAT!!!//////
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2001
Made this recipe with dinner & it was a HUGE hit! So easy to make, too. Threw all the ingredients into my foodprocessor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2001
Last night I was looking for a simple recipe for biscuits and I found a winner. I didn't have self-rising flour, so I used regular flour and added one cup of bisquick to it. I also added a little extra sugar. Be sure when you are rolling the dough out you don't roll it too thin, as your biscuits won't be as fluffy. I also drizzled a little butter over the top before baking and they came out wonderful. I was very pleased with them, as I have been known to bake hockey pucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
The biscuits had a great flavor, but mine didn't rise very well. I don't know if I did something wrong, but I will try again because, although they weren't too "pretty" the taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2000
Do not make these biscuits. You will eat too many of them and become large. They're wonderful! I used sifted whole spelt flour (very similar to whole wheat), 1/2 cup of butter and only needed 1 cup of buttermilk. I rated the "Kid Friendly" five stars. I'm 15. Am I still a kid?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
My buttermilk went sour on me, so I tried regular milk. They still tasted great & were very easy to make. My 14 year old daughter ended up making them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-129 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States