Buttermilk Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
I've searched for a long time for a buttermilk biscuit recipe that makes a biscuit that was fluffy and full of flavor. THIS IS IT! For those having trouble, I suggest kneading very lightly, as too much kneading makes them tough. Also, I knead and roll them out in all-purpose flour because the extra self-rising flour seems to give them an acidic taste. Good biscuits require practice and close attention to detail, but are far worth it, especially in comparison to the ones that plop out of a round tube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bitburg, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
I was all excited about it until I ate it. No fluff just a taste of too much of something. Just alot of flour. No instructions on what size to make them or how much to need the dough. Thank God I new to put flour on the conter to roll out. I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Really good. My family enjoys it, but you can cut back on the butter a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
These were just ok. They spread out, which surpised me, and that made them too thin. The flavor is sort of bland too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
I'm trying to remove my rating for this recipe. I never made this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
These biscuits tasted okay, but I think I rolled them too thin. Also, I live in Denver, so I didn't know if I needed to take the altitude into account. First time I made homemade biscuits,I had fun making them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
Bland and boring. Good biscuits these ain't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
Tasty, quick and easy, what more could you ask for? Tks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
These biscuits are GREAT! The only complaint I have is how sticky the dough is at the final stage. It was just a little difficult to roll out. I had to consistently sprinkle flour to keep from sticking. Other then that little problem .. they are FANTASTIC! To keep them moist ... they must be placed immediately after cooling in a storage container. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
These biscuits turned out very tender and flaky, but not very tasty, they needed salt and maybe baking soda. My husband and I thought they tasted more like rolls than biscuits. I don't think I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States