Buttermilk Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
I just made these biscuits and think they are wonderful. My husband says they are the best biscuits I have ever made. I am wondering if the people who thought they were bland just used regular flour in place of the self rising flour. Self rising flour has baking powder or soda and salt so they should turn out very good. I thought they were perfect. Thank-you very much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
These are some of the best biscuits i've made from scratch. The whole family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
These were wonderful, although I am going to have to try them again because I think I made them to big. But they tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
Well now, these were just terrible. I made them exactly as directed, and they were very pretty. They also taste like fluffy balls of flour. What a disappointment after such a nice presentation! I got the "yuck face" all across the table, so I'm glad it was just family. I would have been embarrassed to serve them to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
they looked good, but they were so bland! i had a feeling they would be, based on other reviews and the lack of salt in the recipe. i wonder if the recipe was supposed to call for salt instead of sugar...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
The dough was nice to work with, but the biscuits did not rise well. They are not light & fluffy & are bland. Pioneer baking mix makes a better biscuit. Wouldn't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
These were awesome!! I am usuallya bisquick gal bc its so easy but these are just as easy only better. They did lack a little in flavour if you plan on using them with a butter/preserve mix but if using with gravy they are awesome. A definate keeper that I will experiment with to add more flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I've tried making buttermilk biscuit for several times, and this recipe is the best I've had so far. The texture was so soft and moist. I didn't roll out the dough cause I was in a hurry preparing dinner, instead I used a 1/3 cup to spoon out the dough and made it a drop-biscuit (instead of roll-out biscuit). Thanks for sharing this WONDERFUL recipe. Will make & bake again anytime soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THUNDERKATZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
The texture was ok, but I found the taste to be very bland. Not what I was hoping for at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Gretna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
Really good and tender. Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States