Buttermilk Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
I used this recipe for the biscuits topped with sausage gravy. I would say that this recipe is worth saving, but there has to be something a bit better out there. I did replace the self-rising flour with 4 cups flour, 2tsp salt, and 2tsp baking powder. However next time I will bring the salt down to 1tsp as they were a bit salty. They also had a slight "artificial flavor" using CRISCO as my shortening. Perhaps I may be able to experiment with 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening. I will be keeping this recipe but still on the lookout for the "perfect" buttermilk biscuit recipe out there. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Ducky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Quick and easy. Very tasty. I used a 2-3/4" cutter and got 18 biscuits. They rose very nicely and took about 17 minutes to get lightly browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
This is a great recipe. I also believe the people who rated it lower than 4/5 stars didn't read the recipe. I found it to be a fast, easy, foolproof recipe. The biscuits come out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EdieO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
With a wheat insensitivity, I substitued the self-rising flour with a spelt flour (added Baking Powder and salt to make it self-rising). Rolled out on floured surface. Best biscuits ever. Light and fluffy, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
you definately have to use self rising flour OR do as others have suggested with AP (add an extra 2 tsp salt, 2 tsp b powder) otherwise you will get bland gross biscuits as others have! Very light and fluffy, great with gravy! They were so sticky there was no way I could roll them so i just made drop biscuits. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Great! The reviewer who wrote the tip about using all-purpose flour instead of self-rising flour was right on! That review said to use 4 cups of all-purpose flour, 2 teaspoons of salt, and 2 teaspoons of baking powder (in addition to the tablespoon that's already called for). That was perfect! I had some guesswork with the temperature though. I have dark, non-stick pans, which means that you lower the oven temperature 25 degrees, so I set it to 375. The biscuits got VERY dark on the bottoms (almost burned), but the insides were still doughy. On the second pan, I used parchment paper on the bottom of the pan, then raised the temperature to what the recipe called for - 400 degrees. Perfect! The bottoms weren't burned, and the dough was fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I really enjoyed these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringgold, Virginia, USA
Living In: Milton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
These biscuits are quite good—light, fluffy, and tender—but just a smidge short of the biscuit nirvana I'm searching for. I will try making them again but topping them with butter. I do think that the people who rated this recipe poorly likely used all-purpose flour instead of self-rising flour; self-rising flour contains both baking powder and salt, and a biscuit without salt would truly be wretched. If you don't have self-rising flour (as I didn't), use four cups of all-purpose flour, two teaspoons of salt, and two teaspoons of baking powder (in addition to the tablespoon that's already called for).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
These biscuits were pretty good. I am no good at rolling dough so I made them as drop biscuits and it worked out fine. The flavor was just missing something though. Maybe next time I will jazz these up with herbs or spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
I just made these biscuits and think they are wonderful. My husband says they are the best biscuits I have ever made. I am wondering if the people who thought they were bland just used regular flour in place of the self rising flour. Self rising flour has baking powder or soda and salt so they should turn out very good. I thought they were perfect. Thank-you very much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States