Buttermilk Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Really good flavor and texture, though took longer than 15 minutes to brown up. Used honey instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I thought I might be disappointed with these since I’ve grown to like biscuits made with butter. I wasn’t disappointed at all tho’ I did, however, brush them with melted butter and dill before baking, and again with melted butter once they came out of the oven. These were quite flavorful, light, fluffy, tall and tender. I don’t know what more you could ask for in a biscuit. Oh – do not add salt. Self-rising flour already contains it and these biscuits have just the right level of salt to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Not my grandmother's biscuits but very good. I added about 1/2 teaspoon of salt to give the biscuits more flavor. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I made these biscuits for breakfast this morning and they were wonderful. I have tried so many recipes before and I really like this one. This will be the one that I use from now on, thanks SAUNDRA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.B
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Turned out wonderful. Soft, flaky and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
These are so easy and delish! I use "butter flavored" shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
The biscuits came out light, flaky, not dry at all. But the taste lacks something, maybe salt. It's a good starting point to make adjustments to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I like this recipe for biscuits! We did not access to butter at the time these were made so it was great! However, I think I will cut back on the amount of buttermilk used in the recipe, once it was mixed in, the dough was a little too moist for a bread product, and I needed to add more flour (which I know is normal in any bread recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
A great recipe! If you haven't made biscuits much, the sticky dough will throw you off! Don't worry, it should be sticky! The stickier the dough, the better the finished product. Just wash your hands, you'll be fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Well, I know how to cook biscuits, but for some reason I'm forgetting stuff all the time or not putting the right ratio of flour to shortening. Or sometimes I forget the baking powder and baking soda too. So, listen I think you have to add a half cup of sugar to these 4 cups of flour. And if your flour is already salty or you are using baking soda don't add any more salt. Especially if you're using butter milk. Now if you're having taste issues you can use butter instead of shortening or lard(animal fat). That should give you the light buttery goodness you seek. Or you can brush with butter once you pull the biscuits out of the oven. And are you browning the biscuits. Don't just use the oven bake use the broil setting for 5minutes. I gave it a five, because it has the ratios I need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States