Buttermilk-Battered Calamari Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Do a couple of small test batches to make sure your temperature and time are good, nothing is worse than overcooked calamari. Setting my deep-fryer to 350 and frying for about 1 minute worked for me. Also, let the calamari dry a bit after they come out of the flour in order to let the batter set. This recipe was quite good, but it's a messy, time-consuming affair. It can be hard to get those little rings evenly battered. It turned out far better than the frozen stuff (which is what a lot of bad restaurants serve too) but falls short of some of the high-quality restaurant fare I've enjoyed. I'm keeping the recipe, but it's going in my "special occasions only" file. Maybe for the annual seven fishes dinner at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
i made some changes cut to 1/4 inch rings for batter buttermilk for 2 hrs then egg flour egg panko then fry at 375 3min 15 sec better than any restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Tavern, New York, USA
Living In: Debary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I didn't like the oregano in the calamari, and usually I love oregano. The calamari also didn't fry up like I would have liked. After 2-3 minutes, the calamari was definitely done, but the breading was not golden. Like other reviewers have said, soaking the calamari in buttermilk for several hours was a good idea. Everything came out very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
VERY good. Loved the batter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Very good. I served the calamari with alioli. Everybody was pleased
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuly
Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Moravia, San Jose , Costa Rica
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
These were okay... I used frozen calamari rings, defrosted then soaked them in buttermilk (milk/vinegar mixture) for 2 hours...they were very tender this way!! But they tasted too "floury" & bland? Needed more seasoning....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This is really great but I think I did something wrong. When I fried the squid, all the flour stayed on the pot! The squid was delicious put without any crunchiness... What did I do wrong?? Also, I replaced the buttermilk since we don't have it here by coconut milk! It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
We loved this recipe. I don't know if buttermilk is the reason, but the dough is very light and fluffy. I served with garlic-yogurt-dill sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
What is it that makes this so incredible? The buttermilk? The ratio of salt/pepper/flour/oregano? I've used the buttermilk and this flouring ratio on Squid, Tilapia, and Catfish - great each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adamkukuk
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I was surprised that this recipe came out so well. Only 4 stars cuz the batter didn't stick so well to the calamari. I did add in some extra spice seasonings to the flour and some panko too. Great starter recipe and I can't wait to make again!! Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Calamari Salad

See how to make a spicy squid salad with coconut milk.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Global Pantry Italy

Meet the main ingredients of the traditional Italian pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States