Buttermilk Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I have made this recipe twice, since I messed up making the first batch. The second time I made it just as written and I was less than impressed. Too much work for a so, so dish. I will be deleting this one from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was pretty good, I only marinated for 1 hr. I did half with the garlic and oregano it was bland for me the other half I added a tbsp of Indian Masala and loved the flavour that added. Will do this again and see if marinating it longer makes a difference. It was nice and crisy like fried chicken without the greece. Next time I'll skip the parchment paper and just make it in a glass dish sprayed with cooking spray. Will definatly use the Indian Masala again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Made the paprika and cayenne variation - still came out quite bland. Good to serve to people who don't like spicy tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Where's the buttermilk? Nothing beats the real McCoy but adding lemon/vinegar to milk is an acceptable substitute. This definitely needs spices added like garlic, paprika, basil, oregano or what-have-you. I'd add it to the milk mixture as well as the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Mine did not look like the picture, but it was still very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I made this recipe as a base , as i thought this recipe in its entirety seems a little bland. I used 2 cups whole milk and the juice of 2 lemons and let it curdle for 15 mins (for the buttermilk) then poured it over 6 large drumsticks and marinated for about 6 hours. Then i took flour, paprika, chili powder, garlic powder, salt and pepper and a little chicken rub (basically 2 pinches of herbs de provence) and mixed it all in the flour, dipped the chicken to coat and cooked exactly like recipe said. Turned out GREAT. I ama vegetarian most of the time and will only eat chicken if has GREAT flavor and the marinade definitely made this chicken moist and flavorful and ofcourse the herbs i added to the flour helped as well. Will make again and was just as good as any other FRIED chicken out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This was a nice substitute for real fried chicken. It was pretty good given how easy it was to make. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Very good, I think I'm going to fry the chicken using the same marinade, but excellant baked, thought maby a rack underneath the pieces would allow some of the grease to drain away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I used regular carnation evaporated milk and lemon juice. I added lemon zest as well and regular paprika with some smokey Tabasco sauce. Delicious. I wiped excess marinade off with a paper towel before dipping in flour. Stayed on just fine. This is a great recipe for guests. Easy to prepare ahead of time and bake off when your ready. It is just fine marinated in the am and cooked for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Renovo, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I tried the basic recipe, and it was not bad, but a little light on flavour. I might try this again with one of the variation suggestions. Paprika, cayenne, curry or garlic would definitely give this a flavour boost. It's now several months later, and I should mention that this recipe is in my regular rotation. I now use a teaspoon of curry powder in the Carnation Milk mix, and another teaspoon and a half of curry powder in the flour mix. You might vary the amount depending on how subtle you want your flavour. Each time, the chicken is moist and flavourful and the texture is crispy. Always a crowd-pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States