Butterkuchen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
I have been making Butter Kuchen for many years, my german grandmother (nana) used to make it, the only difference between this and the Butter Kuchen I make is, I let it rise in a bowl covered with plastic wrap, then roll it out onto a big greased cookie sheet,cover,(let it rise again), put indentations in the top every 2 inches, then put butter in them, and then sprinkle with the whole top of the Butter Kuchen with sugar, & bake it at 350 deg. Butter Kuchen is absolutely fantastic !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rosamond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2000
this is truly a great cake to enjoy with a good cup of coffee.Best eaten whilst still warm and has yummy buttery and sugar topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2000
Yummy. Hearty, rich, buttery coffee cake with almost a bread-like texture. Delicious. A little time-consuming because of the cooling and rising steps but not difficult at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Was a little time consuming, but aren't all good things? I had a couple of problems with the dough rising and being too large for the baking pan, which caused my cinnamon sugar topping to run off of the top and onto the bottom of the oven. Ooops. I think a little bit of cinnamon in the cake itself would be a great addition, but overall it was a great recipe. Thanks Janice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
wonderful "old fahioned" cake. I am relocating to Germany and served it to friends who are relocating with us, It was a fun novelty and delicous too! A little time consuming but not hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
This recipe is just what I was looking for, a not-to-sweet coffee cake that doesn't taste like baking powder. My husband, who doesn't like cake, really liked it. Thanks Janice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: Bonita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
yummy--just like my oma and mama in germany used to make--id recommend a bigger pan however--too thick otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altenkunstadt, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is tasty and simple to make. A very good yeast first-timer recipe. It needed more spice in my opinion but was soft and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
My mother was famous for her butterkuchen, and had to bring it to many family functions. When we asked her for the recipe, she said she couldn't tell us because she just mixed until it looked right. I think we have the recipe now. The only difference is my mother would add chopped walnut to the topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
We threw out about a half pan of this. Fresh from the oven it was pretty good, but it didn't keep well and made too much for us. It's easy to make however, and worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States