Butterhorn Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
A lot of rising to be done and it didn't quite rise enough...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This is a very good basic refrigerator dough. The instructions for assembling the rolls are incomplete--roll the dough into 12" circles, brush on butter (melted and cooled butter works better than softened butter), cut into 8 wedges (a pizza cutter works well here), and then roll into crescents. I also like to brush the tops of the rolls with butter. The rolls take a bit longer to bake than the recipe calls for--14 minutes in my oven and, yes, the temperature in my oven is accurate. The recipe makes 32 rolls, which is a bit more than most families need at once, but as another reviewer said, the dough keeps in the refrigerator for a week or so. I cut the dough into quarters and form each blob of dough into a rough circle, then wrap it in plastic wrap to store in the refrigerator for later. The dough also makes great cinnamon rolls. Take a quarter of the dough, roll it about 3/8" thick in a rough rectangle shape, brush with melted butter, sprinkle with cinnamon sugar, and roll up. Cut the roll into 9 equal sections, then arrange the rolls in an 8" x 8" greased pan. Brush with melted butter, cover loosely with plastic wrap, and let rise for 3 or 4 hours. Bake at 350 for about 25 minutes--keep a close eye on the rolls in the oven, because the sugar scorches quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This is a great recipe. Very easy to make with the awesome instructions. My 12 year old niece did all of the rolling and was so proud of herself when these beauties came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3daisys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livermore, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
These were fluffy and flaky. I made the recipe as written for Thanks Giving, and everyone loved them. They are even wonderful with whole-wheat flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby sparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Boylston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
No changes needed. Crowd pleaser! Note: to cut down on salt I use salt free butter for shortening. Also makes them taste more buttery. Has become the requested "dish" that I bring to holiday gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by F.S. ohio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Delicious!! Works really good with cocktail weines
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valley Springs, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
made these with butter instead of shortening, didn't roll them out, just formed balls. turned out good, kind of had the texture of a tea-biscuit, but people really liked them, and the no-kneading is a total bonus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
These turned out wonderful! Had them for Thanksgiving and rolled them out and let them rise while the turkey was baking. The timing was perfect! They were light and flaky. The only change I made was using butter flavor Crisco instead of regular shortening but that is just a personal preference. Thanks for the delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 10tocook4

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was my first attempt at making rolls. It was a disaster. Based on the other reviews, I'm sure it's something that I did or didn't do correctly. The dough didn't rise. Maybe I was supposed to mix the yeast and water with a blender/mixer. I just used a spoon. Or maybe the yeast I used was "old". I've read that this can adversely effect your results. Maybe, I'll try this again or look for an even simpler recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Lady Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
OMG!!! this is the first time that a 5 star recipe turned out to be just that~! I made them for my Thanksgiving dinner and they are perfect!!! I will share this recipe with family and friends and it will go down in my families cook book! hooray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hawaiibarby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States