Buttered Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Easy, quick & good! I was attracted to this recipe by the photo by MommyFromSeattle and followed her suggestions about adding sugar & salt. I rolled the dough and made about 10 smaller biscuits. They didn't rise up real high, but they were light and soft inside with nice crisp edges, and were surprisingly flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I'm wanyed some biscuit this morning while me and my husband made breaksfast.So i got on this web site and was looking for some biscuit.Let me just say that this recipe is a keeper and its so easy to make its deelicious with some gravy Thanks a million for this butter biscuit recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Key Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I've never been able to make a decent biscuit....but this recipe was literally a piece of cake. They turned out De-Lish-Ous! Will definitely make again. For the record I did use powered buttermilk and a dash of salt. Simple and very good. Please try, you will not be disappointed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Lady Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Super easy to make. A good base recipe, but definitely needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Superb biscuits. (Add 1 tablespoon sugar and 1/2 teaspoon salt for more flavor). Buttery, light, flaky, simple and super quick. The tip about shaping the dough into patties and baking in a cake pan was perfect. I brushed the top with a little butter and it came out golden and flavorful. I always use real butter when baking and I think it makes a big difference versus using margarine. Baked at 425, 18-20 min. This yielded me 6 large biscuits. I've made the J.P. Big Daddy Biscuits twice and they came out hard, dense, flat - not good and definitely not fool proof. This recipe is FOOL PROOF. Just don't overmix or knead. I also always need about 1 cup buttermilk, versus 2/3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Great last minute side or breakfast fix. It's quick and easy and foolproof.I used sourcream and added a little sugar and salt. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashaleena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
SUPER EASY AND FANTASTIC BISCUIT RECIPE! FINALLY A RECIPE I CAN WHIP UP IN A MINUTES NOTICE..AND ONE YOU CAN BASICLY ADD ANYTHING YOU WANT TO CHANGE THE TASTE....THANKS SO MUCH FOR THIS WONDERFUL RECIPE...THIS ONE IS DIFFENTLY A KEEPER!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I usually screw something up on a recipe but not this one. This is the perfect first recipe for anyone to try. I did add 1tsp of sugar and put them in a round cake pan. They came out perfect. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I didn't have buttermilk (or vinegar to make it) so I used sour cream. Turned out lovely-I used a mini muffin pan for a delicate little savory muffin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Nice, tasty biscuits. I don't like to cut in butter either, so made the dough in the food processor. I didn't have self rising flour either. Here is my substitution: 1 cup flour, 1 teaspoon baking powder, 1/4 teaspoon salt & 1/4 teaspoon baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flaky homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States