Buttered Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Simple and easy recipe. I mixed the dough, kneaded it on the counter and cut into biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reina Lairs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
These were really good and super easy. I didn't have self rising flour so I took the suggestion of another reviewer and used 1tbsp baking powder and a bit of salt. I think 1tbsp of powder is a bit took much, they tasted more like baking powder biscuits than buttermilk biscuits (not necessarily a bad thing, just not what I was going for.) I may also add an extra splash of milk next time, as my dough was pretty crumbly and I really had to press it together to get it to form into biscuits that would stay together. Overall, definitely a keeper. Much better than the biscuits out of a can you can buy at the grocery store, and just as easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Great simple recipe! First time I made this my hubby and I felt it needed some more salt. So, this time around I added about a 1/2 a teaspoon of salt and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Finally I've found the perfect biscuit recipe. These are terrific. I added a little sugar to the dough. I formed the dough into 7 large-ish patties, placed them in a greased ceramic dish with their sides touching and baked at 425 for 20 minutes. They were cooked but the tops weren't brown (which I wanted for the sake of presentation) so I turned my broiler on low to brown them (watch carefully!). I had just made a batch of fresh raspberry jam - we were transported to Heaven! Thanks for the recipe. P.S. I often do a lot of complicated, gourmet cooking and I am constantly surprised how some of the simplest, easiest recipes result in a supremely satisfying treat. I enjoy the challenge of gourmet cooking but I enjoy good food even more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
The best buttermilk biscuits I have ever made! I follow the recipe exactly and they have come out perfect each time. So easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
These were very good and so easy to make. I only had margarine on hand but I would suggest sticking to real butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Very easy to throw together! I used lightly floured hands to shape them as we used them for biscuits & gravy and made 5 large biscuits. These are great with gravy on them, I didn't think the flavor was good enough for just regular biscuits with jam or something like that, but will definitely use again for gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
My former mother-in-law used self rising flour and buttermilk - no butter. She handled the dough just enough to blend by hand, rolled the biscuits in large rounds, placed them in an oiled pan close together and turned them over. After baking, the large biscuits had golden tops and crusts and were so flaky and moist. Two ingredients and just the right touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Holy smokes! I had no idea that biscuits could be so quick and easy. For my first time trying this recipe, I used all-purpose flour with some added baking powder and salt, plus a teaspoon of sugar, and used regular milk instead of buttermilk. They turned out delicious and I will never go back to refrigerated biscuits again - this recipe takes no more time than popping open a can of those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
these were pretty good. but i am still hoping to find a better recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States