Buttered Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I followed the directions exactly, but they ended up fairly dry and tasteless. I'll look for a recipe that's more moist and fluffy next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
So simple and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Quick, easy and delicious! These came together in minutes and baked up nicely. I served them with some raspberry preserves. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
It is an excellent recipe like this one that has Hubs reporting it has made a biscuit lover out of him. (Historically he has NOT been a fan) As for me, the cook as well as the consumer, I can say that it is almost embarrassingly easy to turn out a darned respectable biscuit when you use self-rising flour and a grand total of three ingredients! Further, grating the stick of butter into the flour with an ordinary box grater makes quick and simple work of combining the two. It's also a time-saver to simply drop the biscuits onto the cookie sheet rather than rolling or patting out the dough and cutting them out. I kind of like the rustic look anyway. I dropped them out onto the cookie sheet with a medium-sized cookie scoop and then flattened them slightly to about one-half inch. The high baking temperature gives these a crackly, somewhat crunchy crust and man, was that good! Just for a little added sheen I brushed them with melted butter when they came out of the oven. I served these with our egg breakfast this morning but I could have eaten them all by themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I loved it1!!!!!!!These were the first biscuits I ever made. In fact are whole family liked it. I added cheese in it, and it was great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
BISCUITS OR CHICKEN POT PIE: I've used this recipe as is for biscuits and my family gobbled them up. They were very delicate and almost fell apart before you could eat them. Tonight, I made the recipe according to the directions, flattened the dough with my hands and laid it across my chicken pot pie mixture in a greased glass casserole dish. I bumped the oven temperature down to 425 and baked for about 15 minutes in a convection oven (which would be 20 in a normal oven). The chicken pot pie turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev Hales

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I put my bowl and butter in the freezer 1/2 hour before beginning. I cut in butter with my fingers. I added slightly MORE buttermilk to get a stickier dough = fluffier biscuit. I was REALLY HAPPY with the results. DELICIOUS! I will be making these again. I made 4 giant biscuits out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I use this recipe every time I make biscuits. The only thing I do differently is I roll them and cut them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natermoore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
YUM! What's not to love?!? I subbed in 1/2c whole wheat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I made these and I loved them. I haven't had them since I left the States 2 years ago and this is as close as I've come to tasting an authentic biscuit. I served them to a friend who just got back from there and he said it brought back memories... that it did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CXI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitimat, British Columbia, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States