Buttered Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nutrinutty
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Really easy and successful recipe!!! I tweaked it based on what I had and because I wanted to make them sweeter, like shortcake. Made my own self-rising flour using another allrecipes.com recipe w/ baking powder and salt. Didn't have buttermilk, so I used a combo of vanilla yogurt and half/and/half (about 50/50 ratio). Added a couple of tablespoons of powdered sugar to the flour mixture, some cinnamon, ginger, allspice; added some vanilla to the wet mixture. It still all came out great and super moist b/c of the yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nutrinutty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Really good. I did not have the self rising flour so I did Monique's suggestions. I also brushed melted butter on top as suggested by another reviewer. My family loved them for breakfast with eggs, bacon, cheese and some ate them with strawberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Easy, delicious. The trick to really fluffy biscuits is not to over mix. I grate the stick of butter and mix until it just comes together. I use an ice cream scoop to scoop an even amount of mix into my floured hands and I shape it before placing on cookie sheet, makes 10 good sized biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I followed the directions exactly, but they ended up fairly dry and tasteless. I'll look for a recipe that's more moist and fluffy next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
So simple and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Quick, easy and delicious! These came together in minutes and baked up nicely. I served them with some raspberry preserves. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
It is an excellent recipe like this one that has Hubs reporting it has made a biscuit lover out of him. (Historically he has NOT been a fan) As for me, the cook as well as the consumer, I can say that it is almost embarrassingly easy to turn out a darned respectable biscuit when you use self-rising flour and a grand total of three ingredients! Further, grating the stick of butter into the flour with an ordinary box grater makes quick and simple work of combining the two. It's also a time-saver to simply drop the biscuits onto the cookie sheet rather than rolling or patting out the dough and cutting them out. I kind of like the rustic look anyway. I dropped them out onto the cookie sheet with a medium-sized cookie scoop and then flattened them slightly to about one-half inch. The high baking temperature gives these a crackly, somewhat crunchy crust and man, was that good! Just for a little added sheen I brushed them with melted butter when they came out of the oven. I served these with our egg breakfast this morning but I could have eaten them all by themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I loved it1!!!!!!!These were the first biscuits I ever made. In fact are whole family liked it. I added cheese in it, and it was great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
BISCUITS OR CHICKEN POT PIE: I've used this recipe as is for biscuits and my family gobbled them up. They were very delicate and almost fell apart before you could eat them. Tonight, I made the recipe according to the directions, flattened the dough with my hands and laid it across my chicken pot pie mixture in a greased glass casserole dish. I bumped the oven temperature down to 425 and baked for about 15 minutes in a convection oven (which would be 20 in a normal oven). The chicken pot pie turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I put my bowl and butter in the freezer 1/2 hour before beginning. I cut in butter with my fingers. I added slightly MORE buttermilk to get a stickier dough = fluffier biscuit. I was REALLY HAPPY with the results. DELICIOUS! I will be making these again. I made 4 giant biscuits out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States