Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This is the most amazingly close to professional frosting. I used unsalted sweet cream butter, gave it a little more sweeter taste and added fluff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I have made this recipe many many times. It's not overly sweet like recipes that do not have butter in them. I also suggest using all butter instead of some shortening; however, it you're in a high humidity area, use the shortening as it holds up better in those conditions. Time to make more frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheMadBaker313

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
i love it is great thankyou!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I first used this recipe for a 50th birthday party slab cake. It is light and fluffy and is the right consistency for professional looking cakes/cupcakes. Excellent icing for making roses. If you don't like the taste, cut down the shortening by 1/4 cup, while adding same amount to icing sugar total. Eliminating shortening in favour of all butter will make consistency of the icing soft. I have also replaced 2 TBSP icing sugar with cocoa powder to change from vanilla to chocolate icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Dunlop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Very respectable little buttercream that came together in no time! I added a pinch more vanilla to counteract the confectioner's sugar taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Very good and very simple! I used all butter instead of the shortening. I also added some a little cinnamon sugar the second time I made it and it was amazing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna Licht

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Windermere, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Delish! Used all butter like others suggested! Also added more milk to make it creamier! Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Great frosting recipe. As I was using it simply as a frosting for a coconut cake I did use all butter as others have suggested. Swapped coconut extract for vanilla and sprinkled coconut on top of cake when I finished frosting. Used this over a vanilla cake mix cake that I added coconut extract to and it totally tasted like a scratch made cake. Frosting makes the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
just perfect for my cupcake , thanks for this recipe??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoAnn Vavrek
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Wanted to make this recipe vegan so used 1/2c vegetable shortening, 1/2c coconut oil, 4c sifted icing sugar, 1 tsp vanilla and 4 tbsp soy milk. Turned out great. Whipped a little longer so it was really smooth. Great taste as well. Iced it ready for fondant and had some left over. Definitely will make this icing again. Can't wait to try the rolled fondant recipe you have on the site. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn Vavrek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 972) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States