Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I made two batches. One following the exact recipe, and one with all butter. Defenitely use all butter, the icing turns out just as nice and there is no shortening taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2501 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lonnarific
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Great base recipe; I used all butter, no shortening. I used an extra teaspoon of vanilla and about 4-5 tablespoons of milk. I only used 2½ cups of powdered sugar and found it to be more than enough; I can't imagine the coma I'd be in if I had used 4! I used this icing on the One Bowl Chocolate Cake III (pictured) and I had some left over. The key is clearly to beat at medium to high speed for several minutes to ensure maximum peak. I do recommend this recipe provided you make some minor tweaks... I definitely suggest tasting as you go to ensure that you don't accidentally use too much sugar and have no way to remove the excess. Remember, the best recipes on earth still go through trial and error. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1667 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lonnarific
Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
I liked this. It had a milder flavor than other buttercream frostings I've tried, and I LOVED not having to cook it, and not using any eggs in it. As another reviewer pointed out though, it's absolutely unnecessary to beat the sugar in one cup at a time. Save yourself all that trouble and just pour all 4 cups in at once. I also used about twice as much milk, but that was just my preference. I suggest adding milk one tablespoon at a time until you have the consistency you desire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
598 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
In fairness to the recipe and its submitter, I prepared this exactly as written--in other words, had I used all butter (as so many others have) instead of half butter, half shortening as the recipe directs, it wouldn't have been this recipe, right? That said, I rated this recipe, as written, 5-star and perfect as written. Would it be equally as good with all butter? Probably, but that would be a different recipe to review. THIS frosting is creamy, not too sweet, spreads easily, and was simply perfect on "David's Yellow Cake," also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
484 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
Awesome frosting! I have made it enought o know that you do not need to put each cup of sugar in at a time though. It's a waist of time & unnessesary. You can put all the cups in one bowl at once and all of the other ingredients and simply mix. It takes less than 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
297 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I took others reviewers advice and used only butter. The key is to mix on high to get it to blend into icing. I put all the sugar in at once as well. I used all 4 cups of sugar and it was sweet. I love sweet, but this is too much for me, will make it again but only use 3 cups
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
265 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I was looking for a cake and icing recipe to make for my nephews sons' graduation party. I made a cake with this icing. I loved it. I found a recipe that takes one box Duncan Hines white cake mix and add a box of Jello White Chocolate pudding. I made the cake by the directions and just added the dry pudding mix with a 1/2 c. water. The cake is fabulous. I had my neice (mother of grad)come over and try yet another cake, and she went nuts. She loved it. She stated "this is the cake, this is the one, you can stop looking for recipes. The icing is fabulous. It goes great with the cake. It all just melts in your mouth. Oh I'm in heaven. This is the best cake I've ever had." And the grad himself even tried it and loved it. I sent half the cake home with them and they were fighting over who was carrying the cake as they were going out the door. LOL. Well you have made all of us very happy. I get to quit baking bad cakes with so-so to nasty icing and my nephews son knows he is getting a fabulous cake for his grad party. Thanks so much. This was a life saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This recipe *IS* the Wilton recipe. Except that the Wilton recipe goes further, and specifies that this is the consistency to use for piping, not for spreading. To thin it in order to use for spreading, you need to add up to 2 Tbsp of corn syrup or milk. And that's not mentioned here. That's also why it uses shortening -- to help piped decorations hold their shape. The 50/50 ratio of butter to shortening is the compromise of flavour vs. practicality for decorating. But if you're only using it for spreading, there's no issue with using all butter. It will be a softer consistency, that's all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was really good! I took advise from other reviews and ONLY used Butter. I did NOT use shortening. I also increased the vanilla to 2tsp and reduced the sugar to 3 cups. Although no one else thought so, I thought it was a bit thick, and i think it may have been that my butter was not at room temp ( i had to warm it in the microwave.) When i make this again, i will make sure the icing is warmed properly. Try this recipe! It is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
I was very pleased with this recipe. I have just recently started decorating cakes and this was the best icing I have made so far. I cannot find the difference but it tasted better than the Wilton's recipe. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 951) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States