Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Like others, I did all butter and only half the sugar because I wasn't decorating, just spreading. This makes a delightful, light frosting- even my husband, who doesn't care for cakes or frosting, enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
this recipe "IS" the wilton recipe that is found in the first coarse of decorating by wilton. it is a great recipe for piping, and the taste is great if you dont go nuts with eating to much. the only thing to remember is that if you are going to do piping dont over beat it. it will cause the icing to become to soft to do things like roses.also use hard shortening vs tube for best results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Use this recipe all the time, but it tastes much better when you use all butter, and heavy cream instead of milk. I find I need to add more cream than the recipe calls for, but I add it a little at a time just to get it to the consistency I like to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Made recipe as stated. Very easy to frost a cake, and was good tasting as well. Would need 1/2 again as much to frost a double layer cake with filling. Didn't try decorations, so I have no idea if it works for that purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Quick & easy recipe. I used butter instead. Tasted great! Defiantly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and honestly I think it is too sweet- I think next time I will just used 3 cups of sugar instead. Looks pretty and held up well for my piping which was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This recipe is great! I use it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
SOOO good. Even my daughter who doesn't like icing at all, LOVED this icing! I used 1 cup of butter and no shortening. Other than that, I followed the recipe and it was really good. I might have been a little generous with the vanilla because I could taste the vanilla goodness in it. I got so many compliments about how good it was! BTW, I used the Simple White Cake recipe by SCOTTOSMAN from this site with the icing. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cushii86
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
THIS WAS THE EASIEST WAY OF MAKING IT.... Very yummy... Those who want to just be lazy and throw it all together go ahead... But I followed this way and used country crock and it was awesome....(JUST REMEMBER YOUR BUTTER NEEDS TO BE ROOM TEMP...):-)... Thank you !!!! Will try more soon...:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cushii86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I just made this recipe... Let me tell you! It's amazing and I plan on making it again! The amounts were just right for the perfect consistency and it tastes like heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 945) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States