Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Very easy, straightforward and delicious. I'll keep this on hand and use as my go-to for buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Made for birthday cakes this year and turned out amazing. Easily doubles accurately for bigger batches of cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evon B Moyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Cut the sugar as suggested in other reviews, otherwise stuck to the recipe, it was plenty sweet, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
It worked really well as a base recipe, but it's really sweet for my taste. Also, I had to double the milk because I didn't want my icing to be too thick. It was pretty good overall, I would just suggest less sugar if you aren't very sweet tongued.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This is the most amazingly close to professional frosting. I used unsalted sweet cream butter, gave it a little more sweeter taste and added fluff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I have made this recipe many many times. It's not overly sweet like recipes that do not have butter in them. I also suggest using all butter instead of some shortening; however, it you're in a high humidity area, use the shortening as it holds up better in those conditions. Time to make more frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheMadBaker313

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
i love it is great thankyou!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I first used this recipe for a 50th birthday party slab cake. It is light and fluffy and is the right consistency for professional looking cakes/cupcakes. Excellent icing for making roses. If you don't like the taste, cut down the shortening by 1/4 cup, while adding same amount to icing sugar total. Eliminating shortening in favour of all butter will make consistency of the icing soft. I have also replaced 2 TBSP icing sugar with cocoa powder to change from vanilla to chocolate icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Dunlop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Very respectable little buttercream that came together in no time! I added a pinch more vanilla to counteract the confectioner's sugar taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Very good and very simple! I used all butter instead of the shortening. I also added some a little cinnamon sugar the second time I made it and it was amazing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna Licht

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Windermere, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 976) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States