Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Very good and very simple! I used all butter instead of the shortening. I also added some a little cinnamon sugar the second time I made it and it was amazing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna Licht

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Delish! Used all butter like others suggested! Also added more milk to make it creamier! Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Great frosting recipe. As I was using it simply as a frosting for a coconut cake I did use all butter as others have suggested. Swapped coconut extract for vanilla and sprinkled coconut on top of cake when I finished frosting. Used this over a vanilla cake mix cake that I added coconut extract to and it totally tasted like a scratch made cake. Frosting makes the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
just perfect for my cupcake , thanks for this recipe??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoAnn Vavrek
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Wanted to make this recipe vegan so used 1/2c vegetable shortening, 1/2c coconut oil, 4c sifted icing sugar, 1 tsp vanilla and 4 tbsp soy milk. Turned out great. Whipped a little longer so it was really smooth. Great taste as well. Iced it ready for fondant and had some left over. Definitely will make this icing again. Can't wait to try the rolled fondant recipe you have on the site. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn Vavrek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This recipe tastes alright and has a good thick but creamy consistency. I give this one star less than 5 due to it being too sugary. The sugar is overpowering and makes me think I am going to get diabetes or a irritated throat from just a few bites. I also give it only 4-Stars as it lacks taste. The butter flavor is very minimal so it's really just plain sugary vanilla which is not that tasty. For those wanting a very plain and very sugary icing, this is likely what you are looking for. For those wanting something with a richer, more buttery taste, this is not the icing you are looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This is my go to recipe for homemade buttercream frosting. Easy and makes enough for a 13 x 9 sheet cake or 2 round 9" pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Too much shortening! More butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I Used less sugar... since I was only ... Thought it might cut the sweetness.... NOT !! but it was good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
My buttercream go to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brebes4
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 967) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States