Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as directed except doubled the vanilla. It came out perfectly. However to frost a layer cake (by my standards at least) would will need to double this or at least add 50% more. Texture and consistency were perfect. Next time I think I will add a little almond flavoring to mix it up, would make a great wedding cake icing. Super easy! The recipe didn't specify but I did sift the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
So far...one of the best I've tried till today. I love the consistency yet I think you could add a cup less of 10x. Its a quick and easy recipe for delicious buttercream icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Delicious!! I just made it to freeze for a cake this week for my son!! I made a double batch but did not double the vanilla! Turned out great!! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Pretty good! My boyfriend loves buttercream frosting, so I was looking for a simple recipe to replace the usual canned frosting on my cupcakes. The texture of this was perfect, not greasy or too hard! I do think next time I'll either add a little salt or use salted butter--I know frosting is supposed to be sweet, but this basically just tasted like solidified powdered sugar. I think a hint of salt would complement it nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Used all butter and added a little more milk. Super yummy and great on the birthday cake I made! Only thing is that I barely had enough frosting for my entire 9 in cake. I think doubling the recipe would've given me way too much, but maybe adding half more would've been perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Young

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I agree with everyone about all butter. Also it tastes nice with some almond extract (1/2 tsp added).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Lovern

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by littleChef
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
100 stars!!! Followed it to a T except I put extra 2 tsp of milk just because I wanted it thin... Makes enough for two 13x9 pan size cakes. My whole family LOVED it will definitely use this from now on, I HIGHLY recommend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ldahm
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Awesome! Perfect cupcake frosting! I swtiched out the vanilla for almond and actually felt it needed more than what the recipe called for. I also added some butter extract in too. I added a dash of salt and it made it perfect! Perfect frosting consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
This was my first attempt at a buttercream and I followed the recipe exactly EXCEPT: Because I used liquid food coloring to make the frosting pink, I didn't add any milk at all. I only put in 8-10 drops but didn't need any other liquid. The frosting was just the right consistency to pipe on some cupcakes. It was perfect! Co-workers devoured the cupcakes and loved the frosting! Raves all around!!! Definitely my "go-to" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This frosting is delicious. Instead of adding milk I added some heavy cream which made it whip fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 951) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States