Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Brittany Young
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Used all butter and added a little more milk. Super yummy and great on the birthday cake I made! Only thing is that I barely had enough frosting for my entire 9 in cake. I think doubling the recipe would've given me way too much, but maybe adding half more would've been perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Young

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I agree with everyone about all butter. Also it tastes nice with some almond extract (1/2 tsp added).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Lovern

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by littleChef
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
100 stars!!! Followed it to a T except I put extra 2 tsp of milk just because I wanted it thin... Makes enough for two 13x9 pan size cakes. My whole family LOVED it will definitely use this from now on, I HIGHLY recommend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ldahm
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Awesome! Perfect cupcake frosting! I swtiched out the vanilla for almond and actually felt it needed more than what the recipe called for. I also added some butter extract in too. I added a dash of salt and it made it perfect! Perfect frosting consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
This was my first attempt at a buttercream and I followed the recipe exactly EXCEPT: Because I used liquid food coloring to make the frosting pink, I didn't add any milk at all. I only put in 8-10 drops but didn't need any other liquid. The frosting was just the right consistency to pipe on some cupcakes. It was perfect! Co-workers devoured the cupcakes and loved the frosting! Raves all around!!! Definitely my "go-to" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This frosting is delicious. Instead of adding milk I added some heavy cream which made it whip fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Fantastic! As long as you beat it long enough it has a nice whipped soft texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I made this frosting to with a white cake with raspberry and blueberry jam in between the layers. It's pair perfectly. I doubled the recipe and other wise followed the recipe except I ended up 1 cup short on the powdered sugar, it was not a problem it was sweet enough without it. I would defiantly make this frosting again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
You know, I have made various versions of frosting before, usually using all butter because I assumed it was the superior flavor to shortening. Well, wrong I was. This combination of butter with shortening is perfect. The flavor is light & the consistency is perfect. You absolutely don't need all butter for it to taste "better"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I love this Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisafromTexas

Displaying results 1-10 (of 947) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States