Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Tastes just like the local cupcakery's buttercream. I used all butter, and it tasted great. My only problem is it is not thick enough. It may be my fault for nearly melting the butter, I'll have to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I added some lemon juice to this and made a lemon icing. It was great! And the icing tasted good 72 hours later. Perfect for cupcakes or cakes that are made the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Just threw a half batch of this frosting away. I can taste the shortening. Will stick to my other recipe that uses butter alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Very good. Followed recipe exactly. I will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Now I'm making my own icing instead of store bought brands. I used butter instead of shortening. I don't like tasting shortening. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgcossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamie Anderson
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Perfect buttercream frosting. And I realize that purists will disagree that this should even be called buttercream but if you use the butter-flavored crisco you can't tell the difference and the frosting sets up better when piping. For those who are just going to use it as a frosting spread then by all means, use all butter. But this recipe really is delicious as-is. Not too sweet, fluffy without wilting and the end result looks great. Am using it again today for my twins' birthday cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale, Indiana, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
It's came out pretty good, but as others recommended here I used shortening, but I replaced half shortening with cream cheese as we love it. So I ended up with 50/25/25% butter/ shortening/cream cheese. I also used half sugar (and for me it was still soooooo sweet:) ), and doubled vanilla extract. As I was going to decorate my cake with grass, I also found that adding 1 tsp of cream of tartar helps my cream to hold better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MercyRenee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
An easy recipe. If your live in the tropics it is better to use the exact recipe to avoid melting or use pure butter flavored shortening. Add cocoa powder or instant coffee or both for other flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanayinya

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This was too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Very good recipe! I accidentally melted the butter on my first try but it still turned out great! Using this for my friends bridal shower party next weekend (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 950) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States