Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This was too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Very good recipe! I accidentally melted the butter on my first try but it still turned out great! Using this for my friends bridal shower party next weekend (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I have used this recipe countless times and each time it comes out great!! I have used as written and I have used all butter which I like the best. When I use all butter I only use a little milk in the recipe like 1 teaspoon. It retains its stiffness to decorate with and holds up longer... I recommend a stand mixer and let it go for at least five minutes to make it fluffy and smooth ... also mix at high speed. Also, I add all of the sugar at one time and just mix. I mix it before adding the milk and then only add the little bit to make it smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Ok this is the sweetest icing I ever had. Like nauseatingly sweet. So I did give it 3 stars only cause I don't like wasting food so I added about 1 cup peanut butter and it turned out pretty yummy after that. So if you like peanut butter and like me thought this was far too sweet. Throw some peanut butter in, it will make it eatable. Sorry I don't like leaving bad reviews. No hard feelings Sharon, super-sweet just isn't for everyone. Obviously there is tons of people on here that love it that's great, for those that need it fixed peanut butter it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I hate to change a recipe the first time I make it and then review, but I did... I used all butter as some reviewers suggested, and I really enjoyed it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MyBreak2Day
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Terrific buttercream frosting! I made a double batch yesterday,using this exact recipe, for our 4th of July BBQ cupcakes. Everyone loved the cupcakes, the kids wanted to eat just the frosting. My daughter said that this frosting is better then bakery frosting. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyBreak2Day

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
THIS RECIPE DIDN'T TURN OUT WELL , AT ALL.IT TASTED TOO MUCH LIKE SUGAR AND shortening . DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND DON'T TRY THIS RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This was really thick; almost too thick to pipe. And the taste was pretty bland. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
i love this recipe, I have used it repeatedly. I often add a little more milk than it calls for if I am piping it onto cake or cupcakes as it does "dry" out- meaning that it is hard to pipe BUT it is still creamy and oh so tasty. I sometimes add cocoa to make it a chocolate icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I was surprised at how disappointing this frosting turned out. I doubled the recipe and used approximately 5 1/2 cups of sugar and 2 cups of unsalted butter. It was too buttery and sweet. I added 1T lemon juice which helped a little. It was very easy to spread (I used white cake recipe from this site) though and tasted okay. But there are other recipes which are better than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 922) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States