Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Followed the recipe to a T. Way too sweet for me. I should have made adjustments other reviewers wrote using less sugar. I wish people would stop giving recipes 5 stars after making their changes to it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetChelsey
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This is my go-to recipe. I use it for all of my cakes. I have a Kitchen Aid stand mixer, so I throw all of the sugar in at once. I probably add more vanilla than necessary (I seem to be a vanilla junkie lol) I almost always add more milk than required. It is perfect for decorating or frosting with a spatula. I have never tried it with just butter. I always use shortening & margarine. ***It also stores well in the fridge for a week or two. You might just have to whip it again after you leave it at room temperature***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetChelsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
LOVE this recipe! I used all butter, and it is so easy to customize the sweetness! I love that it has no eggs in it. I will use this ALL the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This recipe is too sweet. I also feel like the shortening adds a wax like texture to the icing. If you're making cupcakes for kids I'm sure they won't mind the sugar but, for adults I would find a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Exactly what I was looking for to frost my one year olds cupcake pullapart cake. Did sub heavy whipping cream for the milk personal preference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashaboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Really yummy! but to make it dense enough i use WAY more than 4 cups of sugar. I;m not sure how else to do it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa_funes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
As suggested in the top review, I used only butter and loved the result! Prior to using this recipe I used another that called for shortening (even used butter flavored) and I didn't dig the shortening taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This is a great buttercream icing. I just added an additional 1 tsp vanilla to give more flavor. Will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. It's greasy, overly sweet, and has an unappealing taste. The only plus is that it does have a nice, creamy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This was really simple to make. I followed the recipe exactly but added some lilac frosting colour. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 922) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States