Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Michele
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2015
Used all butter, no shortening. Perfect icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2015
Great for decorating, but not as tasty as I would have liked. I made as is, and next time will try the all-butter version. Since the recipe here calls for shortening, I'm rating the recipe based on how it's written, not how others have suggested making it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
Easiest and best frosting!! I used straight butter, no shortening and 2 1/2 cups of confectioner sugar, which was plenty sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
This icing is FANTASTIC! I made it EXACTLY as the recipe was written. I've never made buttercream before... but this is so easy and so good, I honestly don't think I'll use canned icing again if I have time to make it! I used this on cupcakes to be eaten outside on a hot summer day - it held up beautifully! (Those who say they've gotten a funny taste from the shortening must have done something wrong - it tasted fabulous!) I used half as it was, and added a Tablespoon of cocoa to the other half - equally as delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
I have made this with all butter and all shortening. I love it both ways. It is my go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Weeder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
This was perfect. All I can say is that all the one star ratings did something terribly wrong because mine came out better than store bought. The only change was that I used all butter instead of half shortening because I just don't like how shortening tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
Delicious! Easy to make. Needed to add a little more milk to use for cupcakes so it would hold it shape when piping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
I followed this recipe using all vegan ingredients. I doubled the amount of vanilla. It came out fantastic! This will definitely be my go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vick Chick
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
I always make choc cake w/ choc frosting but was making a decorated cake for my daughter's graduation party (because every bakery I called uses partially hydrogenated oil!) so I needed a white frosting to able to decorate it. This worked great and it was SUPER easy to make! Great white frosting! :o]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vick Chick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
Great consistency and flavor. I also used all butter. Family asked when was I going to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 996) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States