Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
The recipe was very good but I changed a lot of it. It kind of seemed outrageous to have 8 cups of powdered sugar so my first plan was just to cut the recipe in half. I used 1/2 cup butter, only 2 cups of powdered sugar, 2 teaspoons of vanilla, and enough milk to make it the right texture. But after doing this everyone in my house loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Very tasty but I used only 1 stick of butter (1/2 cup) and only 3 3/4 cups confectioners sugar (about half what the recipe calls for) also, since it came out tasting incredibly sweet I added just the tiniest drop of white vinegar. It came out perfect! What a delicious frosting. I am not sure how much the original recipe yields but my "reduced" recipe made enough frosting to cover 2 9" round layer cakes with tons of frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I liked this recipe because I had all the ingredients on hand. I think the the trick is to beat it well, I cut the recipe in half and frosted a 2-layer cake and had about 1 cup of frosting left over. I will make again, it had a great consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizDatBC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spivey, Kansas, USA
Living In: Valley Center, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This is also yummy with almond extract! My mother used to be a cake decorator and this is just like hers! For a flawless finish, use shortening instead of butter, and use a metal spatula with a smooth edge. Let your frosting dry. Dip spatula in VERY hot water and smooth frosting, wiping spatula frequently. It will end up almost as smooth as fondant and be a beautiful canvas for your handiwork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Kibbe-Riddle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I made half the recipe, which generously frosted twelve cupcakes. I found I needed only 3-1/2 rather than four cups of powdered sugar, but the full amount would have been fine too. Don't be rigid on the amount of milk to use either - simply add it gradually until you get the consistency you want which will depend on whether you're spreading it or piping it. Since I piped this frosting onto cupcakes, I made a stiffer frosting which obviously required less. This is a standard, reliable recipe for basic vanilla buttercream. It's very hard to go wrong on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Excellent basic buttercream recipe. You need to have the butter at room temp or cool (butter indents when you press)...not warm and runny...the butter needs to have some body to it. I add the sugar a 1/2 cup at a time, tasting all the way. Then some half and half (instead of milk), then more sugar..until it is light, fluffy, tasty and perfect. I have no idea how much sugar I add, but if you add the sugar, THEN the milk, both a little at a time, it will be wonderful. Today I made a chocolate , a vanilla and a cream cheese frosting with this basic recipe. I probably use less sugar so it comes out fluffier and less sweet. Again...the key is the butter...it mustn't be warm..in fact if it's cool it's really perfect, will hold lots of air and become - with each addition and whipping - light and lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
a good basic recipe. I found that the best tactic with the sugar was to just add it to the butter and milk 1-2 cups at a time until you get it just right. 8 cups did seem like a wee bit too much for me, I only added about 3 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Wonderful! Not too rich at all, nice consistency. Dries very smooth, not at all dry & crusty. I was out of Pure Vanilla, so I used 1/2 tsp Immitation Vanilla, instead. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I found this is a good recipe. But I added a little more vanilla and decreased the powdered sugar by a cup and added 1/2 cup bakers sugar. I think it came out great and more fluffy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Don't know what I did wrong, the frosting was too runny and way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bookham, Surrey, England, U.K.
Living In: Buda, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States