Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
my fave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I wouldn't change a thing. One recipe will generously frost 24 cupcakes (maybe a little to spare for mistakes!). It's a good consistency for pastry bag application. I've also used almond extract in place of the vanilla, which is delicious - I imagine other extract flavors would work, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reedley, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Just Right! Spreads easily and works for more detailed decorating as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Delicious and easy to make. My whole family loves it so I make it with every cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Favorite recipe. I do replace vanilla with peppermint though! Yum. Also, I always half this recipe and it finishes a whole 2 layer cake just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beautifuldayinca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I like this frosting, but even when I cut it in half it made a TON. I also cut down a little on the confectioners' sugar, and it still turned out great. I also put in a little more vanilla extract, because a little vanilla never hurt anybody. When I refrigerated my frosted cupcakes, the frosting hardened a little and still tasted really good. Next time I'm going to use some food coloring too. (Also, it turns out as a really pretty creamy color!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I thought the milk was a bit useless to even have on the recipe. After beating the sugar and butter, it was already the thickness of frosting but I added a dash of milk. Also I would have used half a cup less sugar. A little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Almost too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This recipe can definitely be cut down a bit since it made WAY too much with the 8 cups of sugar. The only thing I changed when making the original recipe was adding another 1/4 cup milk to get a more spreadable consistency. This frosting comes out a bit yellow thanks to the butter but unless you're specifically looking for a white color that shouldn't be a problem. It also converts very well to a chocolate frosting with just a little more milk and cocoa powder. Definitely, by far, the best tasting buttercream recipe I've come across!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
To frost 24 cupcakes I cut the recipe in half and still had half of that left over....so if you are making the standard amout of cupcakes I'd scale the recipe down to a fourth instead of half as I did. Add the milk slowly as this will completely change the consistency so you get it the way you want it. A great basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States