Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I did use a bit less sugar but otherwise followed the recipe. It turned out just the way I wanted it! I used it on Dark Chocolate Cake II on this site, both were perfect! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I really liked this recipe. However when I saw the picture I was expecting a chocolate buttercream recipe so I just changed it up a bit. Also, unless you're frosting more than one cake or a few dozen cupcakes you only need 1/2 the recipe. I made a custom recipe so I wouldn't forget the changes I made to the recipe which I loved. I cut the recipe in half and then added 3 T butter flavored crisco, 1/2 unsweetened cocoa, a pinch of salt and I thought it needed just one more tablespoon of milk for a total of 1/4c + 1T. After beating the ingredients on high for a few minutes to make it nice and fluffy, the frosting was perfect. One more note - I made a box chocolate cake and substituted 1/3 c amaretto liquor for part of the water and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bluffton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Excellent! I made this recipe to put on top of cupcakes. I halved the recipe. I had a dozen regular-sized cupcakes and a dozen mini cupcakes and had quite a bit left over. I made the chocolate version using cocoa. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Yum! I'm used Earth Balance for the butter due to my milk allergic son; it turned out nicely so I'm really looking forward to using real butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
very easy and yummy!! I added a little peanut butter to mine to frost a 9x13 chocolate cake... perfect! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Bob's girl~

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Clinton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Fast and easy recipe that we liked. Added grinded walnuts to frosting and made it slightly runny and put over hot bananna cake. Also poked cake with holes for the frosting to seep thru. Excellent! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynful
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I cut this recipe down to 3 servings because I wanted to try it before commiting to alot of ingredients, this reciepe is AWESOME! I made some orange cookies and the frosting that it suggested was way to thin, this buttercream (w/orange) knocked the cookies out of the park. I may never buy store bought again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I did exactly what the recipe said but I had to put the mix in thefreezer to firm it up and it was still too watery. Also, it was too sweet. I have yet to find a good buttercream frosting recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Great basic recipe. Super easy and tastes great on cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEASTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morehead City, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States