Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Pretty good. Followed the recipe exactly, but halved everything since I only had a dozen cupcakes to frost. I wanted a champagne flavored frosting, so I did add a couple of tablespoons of the champagne until I could get the right flavor. If you do this you need to remove the same amount of milk otherwise it becomes to runny. Or add more Powdered Sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This was a very sweet frosting and I was making it for someone who didn't care for all the sweetness. So, I added about 3 cups extra unsalted butter to cut it down. Based on taste, they loved it and raved claiming they wanted seconds. The frosting stayed nice and thick, even with the extra butter, and I added alittle milk to loosen it up some. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Needed enough frosting for 12 cupcakes, so I made half of the recipe. I was also looking for a raspberry buttercream so I replaced the milk with approx. 1/2 cup of fresh raspberries. I mixed the butter and raspberries, added the vanilla and then added 1 cup of confectioners' sugar at a time and beat well after each addition until I was happy with the consistency. Worked out great! I will use this recipe often. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by albe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I didn't care for this recipe. I dont know what I did wrong but it turned out to be thin (almost like glaze) and lumpy and also WAYY too sweet. overall, I definitely DO NOT recomend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Recipe as written is very thick and way too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This is delicious:) Me and my whole family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rodeoang

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Followed the recipe word for word yet it was too thick and mich too sweet. Not really sure what I did wrong...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Almond extract instead of vanilla= DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by r2d2therc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Altho I cut back on the sugar it was still a very good buttercream frosting coupled with the fact that this recipe is one of the few that did not call for shortening. The thought of eating shortening, sweetened or not, sends me over the edge. I added a bit of red food coloring and made pretty little individual heart shaped pink frosted cakes. The love of my life adored this recipe Diana and we both thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States