Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This is a great recipe! I made a chocolate hazelnut frosting with peanut butter cupcakes and it was to die for!! Instead of milk I used a 1/2 cup of hazelnut creamer and I used 3 1/2 cups of powdered sugar and 1/2 cup of coco powder! I only used a stick of butter!!! Great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I will ONLY use this icing on my cupcakes...add some food coloring and you have the perfect topping to your dessert! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanyabell3

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Love this! This is the best frosting ever. If you are going to use it for piping it is not stiff enough, you will need to add more confectionery sugar. But the taste is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
love this frosting its delish and i get lots of comliments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cthylla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This was a good recipe and tasted great to me. I sifted the sugar before beating it into the butter and it did not taste grainy to me. My only complaint was I made this for my son's August birthday and it melts fast so keep the cake or cupcakes refrigerated until serving or it will melt pretty quickly on you in any heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This is my favorite frosting recipe, i use it for everything. However, because of dairy allergies at our house, i substitute extra virgin coconut oil for the butter. This is absolutly amazing made as a chocolate frosting, tastes just like a candy bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I started off making half and by the time my boys kept tasting it I should have made the full recipe. So i started all over and did just that!!! This is an awsome recipe. Only thing I did different was substitute irish cream coffee creamer for the milk. It was delicious!!! Will definatly use this one over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I used this recipe along with a white cake recipe from this site to make my own Key Lime cake concoction. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I tried this recipe as is and found that the taste was much too sweet and the consistency was a bit "gritty." There were no visible lumps but definitely an odd grit upon tasting it and that was after mixing it for 10 minutes. Also, it merely tasted like powdered sugar. There was no buttery flavor at all. I was disappointed but feel I may have made a mistake in my execution since so many other reviewers found this frosting to be wonderful. I will try again but will add less powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Arlington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Boy, that was fast. I halved the recipe. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremiah Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States