Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
my fave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I wouldn't change a thing. One recipe will generously frost 24 cupcakes (maybe a little to spare for mistakes!). It's a good consistency for pastry bag application. I've also used almond extract in place of the vanilla, which is delicious - I imagine other extract flavors would work, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Bice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reedley, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Just Right! Spreads easily and works for more detailed decorating as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Delicious and easy to make. My whole family loves it so I make it with every cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Favorite recipe. I do replace vanilla with peppermint though! Yum. Also, I always half this recipe and it finishes a whole 2 layer cake just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beautifuldayinca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I like this frosting, but even when I cut it in half it made a TON. I also cut down a little on the confectioners' sugar, and it still turned out great. I also put in a little more vanilla extract, because a little vanilla never hurt anybody. When I refrigerated my frosted cupcakes, the frosting hardened a little and still tasted really good. Next time I'm going to use some food coloring too. (Also, it turns out as a really pretty creamy color!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I thought the milk was a bit useless to even have on the recipe. After beating the sugar and butter, it was already the thickness of frosting but I added a dash of milk. Also I would have used half a cup less sugar. A little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Almost too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This recipe can definitely be cut down a bit since it made WAY too much with the 8 cups of sugar. The only thing I changed when making the original recipe was adding another 1/4 cup milk to get a more spreadable consistency. This frosting comes out a bit yellow thanks to the butter but unless you're specifically looking for a white color that shouldn't be a problem. It also converts very well to a chocolate frosting with just a little more milk and cocoa powder. Definitely, by far, the best tasting buttercream recipe I've come across!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
To frost 24 cupcakes I cut the recipe in half and still had half of that left over....so if you are making the standard amout of cupcakes I'd scale the recipe down to a fourth instead of half as I did. Add the milk slowly as this will completely change the consistency so you get it the way you want it. A great basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States