Buttercream-Coconut Cake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This is a good basic buttercream icing recipe. Not too sweet and very fluffy. I made it with the black magic cake also from this site. It was the perfect finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Whoa!! I can see why this got 5 stars! This frosting is FANTASTIC! I made only one change and that was add 1/2 cup of chopped pecans instead of 1/4 cup... but that was only because I love nuts! That's it. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Frostings and icings can sometimes be too sweet or greasy. This recipe is a winner. I added a teaspoon of coconut extract for even more coconut flavor and used it on a silver white cake with a cranberry filling between the layers for the holidays. The cake got lots of oohs and ahhs and got eaten up in no time flat. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This is a great recipe for buttercream. Instead of vanilla, I use coconut extract so you can it really tastes the coconut and I use about 1 1/2 to 2 tablespoons. It's not too much at all. I always get requests for coconut cupcakes now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kakeech

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hazlet, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Staunton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
AMAZING!! Loved it! I am going to try toasting the coconut next time and see how that turns out. Recipe is wonderful the way it is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainyZ
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I made this exactly as the recipe says and it was perfect! Very sweet and coconut-y, perfect for the less sweet cake I made. Easy to spread too. I will be using this recipe with different flavors as my go-to icing from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WISEM2K
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Superb. I could envision my arteries clogging, but this frosting is so good. I did make some small changes. I used 3/4 cup of butter and 1/4 cup of shortening. Also I processed the pecans to tiny pieces and mixed them in with the coconut. I smoothed it over a "Black Magic" chocolate cake and topped it with some toasted coconut. The frosting held up well. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEM2K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Loved it. I used coconut oil unstead of vegetable shortening and got thumbs up from the toughest critic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Keeler, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I am not a hugh fan of coconut but this recipe made me fall in love with it! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This is such a easy and yummy recipe to make. I added 2 tsp of coconut flavoring to it though. Its awesome and I have other family members asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowgap, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States