Buttercream-Coconut Cake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Most buttercream frosting recipes are good, especially with some tweaking. This one is excellent without it. Rich, smooth,creamy and not too sweet. A little less powdered sugar in this recipe than most makes all the difference. I didn't add the pecans, and chose to sprinkle the coconut on top, but with or without those additions, this is one of the best buttercream frostings around. However, I always use hi-ratio shortening in any frosting recipe calling for shortening and it, too, makes all the difference. One recipe generously frosted 12 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Wow! So for me, I was looking for a recipe that didn't include anymore egg whites-I already used 3 for my cake- that would go along with my coconut cake. This icing is LOVELY. (I made this for mother's day and excluded the pecans-my mom's allergic) I also just put in a few hand fulls of coconut rather than a full bag, just enough for flavor. Once I iced my cake, I covered it with full on coconut chunks (unsweetened). It looked beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Yummy frosting! Love the consistency by using 1 cup less of powdered sugar than my standard frosting. Tastes great on white cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
This was so so so yummy! Everyone loved it! I made a few adjustments that worked really well. Instead of shortening I used 3/4 cup of butter and 1/4 cup of coconut oil (virgin, cold pressed). It gave the icing a subtle coconut flavour and lovely smoothness. I also didn't add any coconut into the frosting itself, just toasted on the outside. Thank you for the amazing recipe, I will definitely be making this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
No nuts and coconut was finely chopped into the cake ... but the frosting was divine! I use coconut milk in place of whole milk ... made the frosting really smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I used 1 stick of butter, 4 cups of confectioners sugar, 1/4 cup of milk and 1.5 tsp of vanilla extract and beat by hand. I tossed in two small handfuls of pecan chips and toasted 1 cup of coconut in the toaster oven, then crumbled it by hand when it was cool before mixing it into the frosting. WOW I can't believe how delicious it is on my Extreme Chocolate Cake (also on allrecipes.com)! Give it a try and I think you'll agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DR in TX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This is so perfect for my delicious almond joy cupcakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianLittleMonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palermo, Sicilia, Italy
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Made this last night to go with a chocolate fudge cake and it was a hit! I had planned on taking a picture, but, sadly, the only evidence that there was even a cake to begin with are the lingering crumbs on my husbands plate! I did do a few small modifications: #1 - I used only half the amount of vanilla extract added a tsp of coconut extract. Soooooo yummy! #2 - I added 3/4 of a bag of coconut instead of half. This will definitely be going into our "keep" folder Thanks so much for the recipe, Rizzy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This frosting is to. die. for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This is an excellent frosting. It spread really well and the coconut flavor didn't overwhelm. I took away one star because I found it overly sweet, even on my spice cake which can usually withstand a sweet icing. I'll probably try it again, but maybe instead of half butter and half shortening, I'll divide them into thirds with cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States