Buttercream-Coconut Cake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Wow! So for me, I was looking for a recipe that didn't include anymore egg whites-I already used 3 for my cake- that would go along with my coconut cake. This icing is LOVELY. (I made this for mother's day and excluded the pecans-my mom's allergic) I also just put in a few hand fulls of coconut rather than a full bag, just enough for flavor. Once I iced my cake, I covered it with full on coconut chunks (unsweetened). It looked beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Yummy frosting! Love the consistency by using 1 cup less of powdered sugar than my standard frosting. Tastes great on white cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
No nuts and coconut was finely chopped into the cake ... but the frosting was divine! I use coconut milk in place of whole milk ... made the frosting really smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I used 1 stick of butter, 4 cups of confectioners sugar, 1/4 cup of milk and 1.5 tsp of vanilla extract and beat by hand. I tossed in two small handfuls of pecan chips and toasted 1 cup of coconut in the toaster oven, then crumbled it by hand when it was cool before mixing it into the frosting. WOW I can't believe how delicious it is on my Extreme Chocolate Cake (also on allrecipes.com)! Give it a try and I think you'll agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DR in TX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Most buttercream frosting recipes are good, especially with some tweaking. This one is excellent without it. Rich, smooth,creamy and not too sweet. A little less powdered sugar in this recipe than most makes all the difference. I didn't add the pecans, and chose to sprinkle the coconut on top, but with or without those additions, this is one of the best buttercream frostings around. However, I always use hi-ratio shortening in any frosting recipe calling for shortening and it, too, makes all the difference. One recipe generously frosted 12 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
If you love coconut ,well here you go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This is so perfect for my delicious almond joy cupcakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianLittleMonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palermo, Sicilia, Italy
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I made this icing, but I left out the coconut/nuts and added cocoa. Awesome consistency and taste! Cupcake snobs at my office were raving about it. My new go to buttercream recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Very good but I deleted the 1/2 cup vegetable shortening for butter makeing the butter 1 cup instead. I also used unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ataraninja1
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Just tried this and it looks and tastes awesome! My customer will be so pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States