Buttercream-Coconut Cake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This is such a easy and yummy recipe to make. I added 2 tsp of coconut flavoring to it though. Its awesome and I have other family members asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowgap, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Made this recipe this evening, but substituted butter for the shortening. I think I enjoyed the addition of the nuts ( I substituted walnuts for pecans). Just seemed a bit greasier than I thought it should have been. I'm glad I tried it, but prefer another buttercream recipe more. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I love it. I substituted coconut oil for the vegetable shortening. OH MY Goodness. Thank you for sharing !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I'll be totally upfront and admit that I'm not a big fan of shortening-based frostings, but have been disappointed lately in the pure butter frostings that I've made lately, from the standpoint of consistency, and how hard they get so quickly. So, I doctored this recipe by decreasing the shortening to 1/4 c and increasing the butter to 3/4 c. I also had a few tablespoons (2-3) of cream of coconut left over from the cake recipe I made, so I put that in too. When all was said and done, it was not the right flavor for the coconut cake I made, so I added 4oz (half a block) of cream cheese and a little bit of salt to add more depth to the flavor). I used it to frost the Cream of Coconut Cake Recipe by Corinne on this site, which I baked in two 9-in round cake pans and they work really well together. My husband (who is the coconut cake lover and requested this for his birthday) and our 7 & 4 yr old boys really like it, but I could still tell there was shortening and could taste the difference. So, I'm still searching for the perfect recipe! TIP: With the addition of only 4 oz of cream cheese and 2-3 tbsp of cream of coconut, this recipe made PLENTY of frosting! SO IF YOU ARE FROSTING TWO LAYERS, GO AHEAD AND LOAD UP THE MIDDLE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Woah. And woah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This recipe was great, although I did go by one review of doubling the butter (since I had no veg. shortening), and I didn't add any pecans. This recipe will defiantly be used again, and is HIGHLY suggested! It's AWESOME with a g-free coconut cake I've made today, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Loved it and so simple. Turned out perfect the first time. I did use almond extract instead of vanilla because I put it on an almond cake, it was delicious. Thank you for the great icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This is an excellent frosting. It spread really well and the coconut flavor didn't overwhelm. I took away one star because I found it overly sweet, even on my spice cake which can usually withstand a sweet icing. I'll probably try it again, but maybe instead of half butter and half shortening, I'll divide them into thirds with cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
made it exactly as posted 1st time, omitted pecans the 2nd time and substituted coconut milk for whole milk the 3rd time. All were AWESOME!!!!!!! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Loved this (and so did everyone else at my son's 1st Communion party). I paired it with a lemon cake and it was delicious!!!! I did substitute water for the milk, just because I left the cake out all day and didn't want to take any chances with the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States