Buttercream-Coconut Cake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by npiatnek88
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
I love this. So does my family! The only thing I do differently is toast the nuts and coconut. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
Took another reviewer's suggestion and used 3/4 c. butter and 1/4 c. coconut oil . It's a little sweeter than I'd like, but the coconut oil made it taste like coconut before the addition of the coconut itself, and I like that. Didn't need any milk to achieve consistency to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Minus the nuts, it is divine just as written. I used it to frost a coconut cake, sprinkled coconut on top. Over-the-top delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This frosting tasted fabulous on my lightly flavored coconut cake. I used unsweetened coconut milk instead of regular milk in the frosting. I put this on a Heavenly White Cake recipe from this website, but replaced vanilla with coconut extract and again unsweetened coconut milk instead of regular milk in the cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I'm not a coconut fan, but my hubby is. I made this for him and he oohed and aahed over it for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This is a good basic buttercream icing recipe. Not too sweet and very fluffy. I made it with the black magic cake also from this site. It was the perfect finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Whoa!! I can see why this got 5 stars! This frosting is FANTASTIC! I made only one change and that was add 1/2 cup of chopped pecans instead of 1/4 cup... but that was only because I love nuts! That's it. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Frostings and icings can sometimes be too sweet or greasy. This recipe is a winner. I added a teaspoon of coconut extract for even more coconut flavor and used it on a silver white cake with a cranberry filling between the layers for the holidays. The cake got lots of oohs and ahhs and got eaten up in no time flat. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This is a great recipe for buttercream. Instead of vanilla, I use coconut extract so you can it really tastes the coconut and I use about 1 1/2 to 2 tablespoons. It's not too much at all. I always get requests for coconut cupcakes now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kakeech

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hazlet, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Staunton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
AMAZING!! Loved it! I am going to try toasting the coconut next time and see how that turns out. Recipe is wonderful the way it is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States