Buttercream-Coconut Cake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This is a good basic buttercream icing recipe. Not too sweet and very fluffy. I made it with the black magic cake also from this site. It was the perfect finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Whoa!! I can see why this got 5 stars! This frosting is FANTASTIC! I made only one change and that was add 1/2 cup of chopped pecans instead of 1/4 cup... but that was only because I love nuts! That's it. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Frostings and icings can sometimes be too sweet or greasy. This recipe is a winner. I added a teaspoon of coconut extract for even more coconut flavor and used it on a silver white cake with a cranberry filling between the layers for the holidays. The cake got lots of oohs and ahhs and got eaten up in no time flat. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This is a great recipe for buttercream. Instead of vanilla, I use coconut extract so you can it really tastes the coconut and I use about 1 1/2 to 2 tablespoons. It's not too much at all. I always get requests for coconut cupcakes now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kakeech

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hazlet, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Staunton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
AMAZING!! Loved it! I am going to try toasting the coconut next time and see how that turns out. Recipe is wonderful the way it is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainyZ
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I made this exactly as the recipe says and it was perfect! Very sweet and coconut-y, perfect for the less sweet cake I made. Easy to spread too. I will be using this recipe with different flavors as my go-to icing from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WISEM2K
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Superb. I could envision my arteries clogging, but this frosting is so good. I did make some small changes. I used 3/4 cup of butter and 1/4 cup of shortening. Also I processed the pecans to tiny pieces and mixed them in with the coconut. I smoothed it over a "Black Magic" chocolate cake and topped it with some toasted coconut. The frosting held up well. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEM2K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Loved it. I used coconut oil unstead of vegetable shortening and got thumbs up from the toughest critic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Keeler, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I am not a hugh fan of coconut but this recipe made me fall in love with it! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This is such a easy and yummy recipe to make. I added 2 tsp of coconut flavoring to it though. Its awesome and I have other family members asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowgap, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States