Buttercream-Coconut Cake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by npiatnek88
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
I love this. So does my family! The only thing I do differently is toast the nuts and coconut. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
Took another reviewer's suggestion and used 3/4 c. butter and 1/4 c. coconut oil . It's a little sweeter than I'd like, but the coconut oil made it taste like coconut before the addition of the coconut itself, and I like that. Didn't need any milk to achieve consistency to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Minus the nuts, it is divine just as written. I used it to frost a coconut cake, sprinkled coconut on top. Over-the-top delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This frosting tasted fabulous on my lightly flavored coconut cake. I used unsweetened coconut milk instead of regular milk in the frosting. I put this on a Heavenly White Cake recipe from this website, but replaced vanilla with coconut extract and again unsweetened coconut milk instead of regular milk in the cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I'm not a coconut fan, but my hubby is. I made this for him and he oohed and aahed over it for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This is a good basic buttercream icing recipe. Not too sweet and very fluffy. I made it with the black magic cake also from this site. It was the perfect finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Whoa!! I can see why this got 5 stars! This frosting is FANTASTIC! I made only one change and that was add 1/2 cup of chopped pecans instead of 1/4 cup... but that was only because I love nuts! That's it. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Frostings and icings can sometimes be too sweet or greasy. This recipe is a winner. I added a teaspoon of coconut extract for even more coconut flavor and used it on a silver white cake with a cranberry filling between the layers for the holidays. The cake got lots of oohs and ahhs and got eaten up in no time flat. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This is a great recipe for buttercream. Instead of vanilla, I use coconut extract so you can it really tastes the coconut and I use about 1 1/2 to 2 tablespoons. It's not too much at all. I always get requests for coconut cupcakes now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kakeech

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hazlet, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Staunton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
AMAZING!! Loved it! I am going to try toasting the coconut next time and see how that turns out. Recipe is wonderful the way it is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States