Buttercream-Coconut Cake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
AMAZING!! Loved it! I am going to try toasting the coconut next time and see how that turns out. Recipe is wonderful the way it is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainyZ
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I made this exactly as the recipe says and it was perfect! Very sweet and coconut-y, perfect for the less sweet cake I made. Easy to spread too. I will be using this recipe with different flavors as my go-to icing from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WISEM2K
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Superb. I could envision my arteries clogging, but this frosting is so good. I did make some small changes. I used 3/4 cup of butter and 1/4 cup of shortening. Also I processed the pecans to tiny pieces and mixed them in with the coconut. I smoothed it over a "Black Magic" chocolate cake and topped it with some toasted coconut. The frosting held up well. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEM2K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Loved it. I used coconut oil unstead of vegetable shortening and got thumbs up from the toughest critic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Keeler, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I am not a hugh fan of coconut but this recipe made me fall in love with it! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This is such a easy and yummy recipe to make. I added 2 tsp of coconut flavoring to it though. Its awesome and I have other family members asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowgap, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Made this recipe this evening, but substituted butter for the shortening. I think I enjoyed the addition of the nuts ( I substituted walnuts for pecans). Just seemed a bit greasier than I thought it should have been. I'm glad I tried it, but prefer another buttercream recipe more. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I love it. I substituted coconut oil for the vegetable shortening. OH MY Goodness. Thank you for sharing !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I'll be totally upfront and admit that I'm not a big fan of shortening-based frostings, but have been disappointed lately in the pure butter frostings that I've made lately, from the standpoint of consistency, and how hard they get so quickly. So, I doctored this recipe by decreasing the shortening to 1/4 c and increasing the butter to 3/4 c. I also had a few tablespoons (2-3) of cream of coconut left over from the cake recipe I made, so I put that in too. When all was said and done, it was not the right flavor for the coconut cake I made, so I added 4oz (half a block) of cream cheese and a little bit of salt to add more depth to the flavor). I used it to frost the Cream of Coconut Cake Recipe by Corinne on this site, which I baked in two 9-in round cake pans and they work really well together. My husband (who is the coconut cake lover and requested this for his birthday) and our 7 & 4 yr old boys really like it, but I could still tell there was shortening and could taste the difference. So, I'm still searching for the perfect recipe! TIP: With the addition of only 4 oz of cream cheese and 2-3 tbsp of cream of coconut, this recipe made PLENTY of frosting! SO IF YOU ARE FROSTING TWO LAYERS, GO AHEAD AND LOAD UP THE MIDDLE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Woah. And woah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States