Buttercream-Coconut Cake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by WISEM2K
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Superb. I could envision my arteries clogging, but this frosting is so good. I did make some small changes. I used 3/4 cup of butter and 1/4 cup of shortening. Also I processed the pecans to tiny pieces and mixed them in with the coconut. I smoothed it over a "Black Magic" chocolate cake and topped it with some toasted coconut. The frosting held up well. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEM2K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Loved it. I used coconut oil unstead of vegetable shortening and got thumbs up from the toughest critic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Keeler, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I am not a hugh fan of coconut but this recipe made me fall in love with it! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This is such a easy and yummy recipe to make. I added 2 tsp of coconut flavoring to it though. Its awesome and I have other family members asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowgap, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Made this recipe this evening, but substituted butter for the shortening. I think I enjoyed the addition of the nuts ( I substituted walnuts for pecans). Just seemed a bit greasier than I thought it should have been. I'm glad I tried it, but prefer another buttercream recipe more. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I love it. I substituted coconut oil for the vegetable shortening. OH MY Goodness. Thank you for sharing !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I'll be totally upfront and admit that I'm not a big fan of shortening-based frostings, but have been disappointed lately in the pure butter frostings that I've made lately, from the standpoint of consistency, and how hard they get so quickly. So, I doctored this recipe by decreasing the shortening to 1/4 c and increasing the butter to 3/4 c. I also had a few tablespoons (2-3) of cream of coconut left over from the cake recipe I made, so I put that in too. When all was said and done, it was not the right flavor for the coconut cake I made, so I added 4oz (half a block) of cream cheese and a little bit of salt to add more depth to the flavor). I used it to frost the Cream of Coconut Cake Recipe by Corinne on this site, which I baked in two 9-in round cake pans and they work really well together. My husband (who is the coconut cake lover and requested this for his birthday) and our 7 & 4 yr old boys really like it, but I could still tell there was shortening and could taste the difference. So, I'm still searching for the perfect recipe! TIP: With the addition of only 4 oz of cream cheese and 2-3 tbsp of cream of coconut, this recipe made PLENTY of frosting! SO IF YOU ARE FROSTING TWO LAYERS, GO AHEAD AND LOAD UP THE MIDDLE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Woah. And woah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This recipe was great, although I did go by one review of doubling the butter (since I had no veg. shortening), and I didn't add any pecans. This recipe will defiantly be used again, and is HIGHLY suggested! It's AWESOME with a g-free coconut cake I've made today, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Loved it and so simple. Turned out perfect the first time. I did use almond extract instead of vanilla because I put it on an almond cake, it was delicious. Thank you for the great icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States