Butterball Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
My great-grandma's family moved here from Russia after leaving Germany. This recipe is very similar to the delicious butterball soup she used to make. She used all spice and chicken stock, both of which add A LOT more flavor. She didn't have a written recipe, making it hard to duplicate. I made some for her last year and she approved. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Good comfort food. I made this with veggy broth and celery, onions and carrots. Much better then expected
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
My Grandma used to make this all the time and I could never remember the recipe.Mine never came out right...so this is wonderful!Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
My grandmother in law used to make these every Easter for our family dinner. The literally melt in your mouth like butter. So good!! She passed away before any of us had the chance to get the exact recipe. This one is darn near perfect to hers. Thanks so much for posting so I can continue to share this tasty dish with my children and some day grandchildren.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Butterballs are my family's biggest food tradition. Every holiday it is the dinner meal. This is a bit different from our recipe but close and good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Morgan, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
i haven't made it yet, but my grandmother was full blooded german and use to make this and this recipe sounds right. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Ok, so I knew that this wasn't going to be a taste sensation, but it was pretty good considering it was so cheap and easy to make. I think, however, that making it with homemade chicken broth and throwing in a few veggies, this could be a really great soup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
Nice way to use old bread! They remind me of an italian tipical dish form the north called "canederli"... I used sesame seed bread and the taste was very nice. I preferred oil to butter. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manuela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Both my grandmothers were German/Russian and this was a family staple after Thanksgiving and Christmas as we made it with turkey broth and homemade egg noodles sliced VERY thin along with the dumplings. This is a pretty good version, but would never taste like Grandma's ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States