Butterball Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
My grandmother in law used to make these every Easter for our family dinner. The literally melt in your mouth like butter. So good!! She passed away before any of us had the chance to get the exact recipe. This one is darn near perfect to hers. Thanks so much for posting so I can continue to share this tasty dish with my children and some day grandchildren.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Both my grandmothers were German/Russian and this was a family staple after Thanksgiving and Christmas as we made it with turkey broth and homemade egg noodles sliced VERY thin along with the dumplings. This is a pretty good version, but would never taste like Grandma's ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dede Fluette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
My great-grandma's family moved here from Russia after leaving Germany. This recipe is very similar to the delicious butterball soup she used to make. She used all spice and chicken stock, both of which add A LOT more flavor. She didn't have a written recipe, making it hard to duplicate. I made some for her last year and she approved. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Butterballs are my family's biggest food tradition. Every holiday it is the dinner meal. This is a bit different from our recipe but close and good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Morgan, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
i haven't made it yet, but my grandmother was full blooded german and use to make this and this recipe sounds right. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
These dumplings are great! I used whole grain bread and white bread that I had leftover. I used my own chicken stock and added some carrots! Yummy! I might add some chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I did not care for this much. It was like soggy bread to me but maybe I didn't make it right. On the other hand, my husband ate it all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Good comfort food. I made this with veggy broth and celery, onions and carrots. Much better then expected
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Ok, so I knew that this wasn't going to be a taste sensation, but it was pretty good considering it was so cheap and easy to make. I think, however, that making it with homemade chicken broth and throwing in a few veggies, this could be a really great soup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States