Butter Whip Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2000
Easy, yummy, and easy-to-make frosting. However, bit too much almond flavor for my family. Next time I make it I will cut in half the amount of almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Here's some tips: I adjust it for 24 servings - it's an even 1/2 c. butter. Keep heavy cream to 1/2 c. as well. Only add sugar gradually until desired consistency - this will prevent grainy. Don't like almond addition? Skip it and add full teaspoon of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I was unsure how to rate this. It tasted excellent, but looked grainy and ugly when done. I made this for cupcakes for my kids classes at school and had to take each cupcake and roll it in sugar crystal sprinkes because of how the frosting looked. Once I did that, they looked fine. However, having said that, it is probably one of the best tasting frostings I have ever had, and the cupcakes were a huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
The flavor was great; I omitted the almond extract because I didn't think it would work with my dessert. My only complaint is that the frosting didn't seem to hold up to warm temp, I had to refridgerate them so the frosting was very stiff when cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I have never reviewed any recipes before, but this one deserved my time and efforts. This was the best frosting I have ever made. ever. It was creamy and had a nice consistency..not too heavy, not too light Everyone loved the hint of almond flavor. I did not experience the grainy texture that others had mentioned. I did make sure to follow the directions and alternately add and beat the heavy whipping cream and powdered sugar. Also, I cut this recipe in half and had PLENTY of frosting left. I frosted a "lambie" shaped cake (which needed a lot of frosting to give it a wooly texture). Greatest frosting recipe ever. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Tasted amazing and got rave reviews from my guests! While the frosting did look a little grainy it wasn't as bad as I thought it would have been with reading the other reviews. I made the recipe to a tee and would only make half next time ~ Since after 2 dozen cupcakes and a 9 x 13 cake I still had a good amount of icing left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I really love almond flavored sugar cookie frosting, so I added a little more almond extract. I made half the recipe and it was plenty for four dozen sugar cookies. It was a little runny for me, so I did have to add more powdered sugar. I think next time I make this I won't add as much whipping cream to it, and it should be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUGCHICK67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Delicious but I used way less cream and flavored it with marshmallow LorAnn flavoring. It tops a white chocolate whipped cream cake and it has blue white chocolate stars on it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Very easy recipe (esp with AllRecipes ability to change the serving/ingredients). Taste was good (my girls love sweet!) but texture was a bit grainy. Great recipe if you are brand-new at making frosting and want to find out if it's do-able. Now that I've done this I can try other recipes--and/or play with this. If you need a simple frosting recipe that does not call for shortening, this is a good one to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spangle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
great frosting. creamy, fluffy. love it. better once refridgerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States