Butter Whip Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Came out extremely sweet, and extremely grainy. Method is incorrect; sweet tasting but directions need to be corrected to create a better texture and appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Flavour wise, this is really good, but it's not nice in appearance. Thankfully this cake is for my family and they don't care what it looks like. Will look for a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Hoover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Followed the directions, except I only put in two cups of 10X and this unspreadable, drippy mess, was so sweet it almost hurt to swallow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I followed the instructions to a tee... And my frosting turned into sweet butter. My daughter started over again and it was not butter this time it just did not turn out to anything except for watered down sugar. I will try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Here's some tips: I adjust it for 24 servings - it's an even 1/2 c. butter. Keep heavy cream to 1/2 c. as well. Only add sugar gradually until desired consistency - this will prevent grainy. Don't like almond addition? Skip it and add full teaspoon of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Delicious but I used way less cream and flavored it with marshmallow LorAnn flavoring. It tops a white chocolate whipped cream cake and it has blue white chocolate stars on it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
this recipe was as easy as one two three
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
If you love the flavor of almond, this recipe is incredible! It was my first time doing a cake icing from scratch and it came out perfect. I used it on a pyramid shaped cake for a birthday and it stayed put and even had a bit of a "sandy" look to it which was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I have never reviewed any recipes before, but this one deserved my time and efforts. This was the best frosting I have ever made. ever. It was creamy and had a nice consistency..not too heavy, not too light Everyone loved the hint of almond flavor. I did not experience the grainy texture that others had mentioned. I did make sure to follow the directions and alternately add and beat the heavy whipping cream and powdered sugar. Also, I cut this recipe in half and had PLENTY of frosting left. I frosted a "lambie" shaped cake (which needed a lot of frosting to give it a wooly texture). Greatest frosting recipe ever. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Tasted amazing and got rave reviews from my guests! While the frosting did look a little grainy it wasn't as bad as I thought it would have been with reading the other reviews. I made the recipe to a tee and would only make half next time ~ Since after 2 dozen cupcakes and a 9 x 13 cake I still had a good amount of icing left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States