Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
These were quite tasty. I used pecans instead of walnuts and I used frozen tart shells. Next time I would omit the nutmeg but that is just a personal preference. I also cooked them for closer to 20 mins. Again a personal preference as I don't like runny tarts, the longer cooking time makes them more chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freya

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Okay. These are awesome. I don't see how one 9-inch crust does it though. I used Allready pie crusts and even using two, I could only make 20 tarts. I only had enough filling for 20 as well. I baked in two batches and added more walnuts to the filling before baking the second batch. Let them cool before trying to get out of the muffin tins! They are addictive!! I also used all butter since I had no margarine and so the calorie count was probably well into the 4 digits. Deeeeelicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I used pecans and raisins instead of coconut and walnuts. Excellent butter tarts, great rich buttery taste, best ever! This year 2006 I made just with pecans and made mini tarts, I got 42 out of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
My family and I loved these tarts. They are not your typical sticky sweet butter tarts. I used pecans and unsweetened coconut vs raisins and walnuts. I will definately be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cumberland, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Excellent! I've also tried changing the recipe a little by omitting the coconut and using 1 cup of chopped almonds rather than walnuts and it was delicious, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I used all butter since I don't buy margarine and pecans. Turned out great in both homemade pastry and frozen tart shells. I liked the spice flavours at first, but I think I'll cut back on them in the future, the cinnamon tends to dominate the flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ookpikk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Instead of 1 cup of coconut and 1/2 cup of walnuts, I made them with 1 cup of peacans and 1/2 cup coconut. They turned out absolutely wonderful. They are different from your traditional butter tarts and I think that they taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Wonderfully yummy! I added dried cranberries, and the end result was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
These are the best butter tarts! When you are not a raisin fan butter tarts can be a put off. I used pecans and all butter (no margarine) I have used this recipe for the past couple x-mas's. YUM PS I buy the frozen tart shells to make my life a little easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SZOWTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
The best butter tarts I have ever tasted, I added 1 cup of raisans and no nutmeg. Other than that I kept it the same. 5 stars for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States