Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Oh My! These were by far the BEST butter tarts I've ever had. I used real butter, not margarine, substituted Pecans and Craisins and omitted the coconut. I also used pancake syrup instead of corn simply because I was out of corn syrup. The flavour is Amazing! I had to give this 5 stars because I don't think these can be improved on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I doubled this and it made a generous 5 doz. tarts. Good recipe but I left out some of the nuts and added raisins and a little vanilla to balance out the spices. Found it took a good 12-13 minutes at 400 but maybe that was just my oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
The best butter tarts I have ever tasted, I added 1 cup of raisans and no nutmeg. Other than that I kept it the same. 5 stars for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I don't know what happened but these were a total disaster. I was doubling the recipe as I went, forgot to use the feature on the page. I had waaay too much batter for the tarts. I will go back to my old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I used all butter since I don't buy margarine and pecans. Turned out great in both homemade pastry and frozen tart shells. I liked the spice flavours at first, but I think I'll cut back on them in the future, the cinnamon tends to dominate the flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ookpikk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
My family and I loved these tarts. They are not your typical sticky sweet butter tarts. I used pecans and unsweetened coconut vs raisins and walnuts. I will definately be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cumberland, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Instead of 1 cup of coconut and 1/2 cup of walnuts, I made them with 1 cup of peacans and 1/2 cup coconut. They turned out absolutely wonderful. They are different from your traditional butter tarts and I think that they taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
By far, these are the absolute best Butter Tarts! I love the spices and the coconut. I no longer can eat the regular bland butter tarts that everyone else makes and thinks are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
These are the best butter tarts! When you are not a raisin fan butter tarts can be a put off. I used pecans and all butter (no margarine) I have used this recipe for the past couple x-mas's. YUM PS I buy the frozen tart shells to make my life a little easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SZOWTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This recipe was pretty good. I didn't find it hard to make either, especially since I cheated and used pre-maid tarts. The only things I did differently was use 1/2 cup of butter and added a little Canola Oil in place of the margerine since I didn't have any. Since I had 30 tarts, I added some with chocolate chips, and some with raisins, and the rest I left plain. I also used Pecan's instead of walnuts because I don't like the taste of walnuts. I think that I didn't crush the pecans enough and then I added to many which took away from the gooyness of them but they still tasted really great! I will definatly use this easy recipe again, with less of the nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States