Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
These were quite tasty. I used pecans instead of walnuts and I used frozen tart shells. Next time I would omit the nutmeg but that is just a personal preference. I also cooked them for closer to 20 mins. Again a personal preference as I don't like runny tarts, the longer cooking time makes them more chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freya

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Okay. These are awesome. I don't see how one 9-inch crust does it though. I used Allready pie crusts and even using two, I could only make 20 tarts. I only had enough filling for 20 as well. I baked in two batches and added more walnuts to the filling before baking the second batch. Let them cool before trying to get out of the muffin tins! They are addictive!! I also used all butter since I had no margarine and so the calorie count was probably well into the 4 digits. Deeeeelicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I used pecans and raisins instead of coconut and walnuts. Excellent butter tarts, great rich buttery taste, best ever! This year 2006 I made just with pecans and made mini tarts, I got 42 out of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
My family and I loved these tarts. They are not your typical sticky sweet butter tarts. I used pecans and unsweetened coconut vs raisins and walnuts. I will definately be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cumberland, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Excellent! I've also tried changing the recipe a little by omitting the coconut and using 1 cup of chopped almonds rather than walnuts and it was delicious, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I used all butter since I don't buy margarine and pecans. Turned out great in both homemade pastry and frozen tart shells. I liked the spice flavours at first, but I think I'll cut back on them in the future, the cinnamon tends to dominate the flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ookpikk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Instead of 1 cup of coconut and 1/2 cup of walnuts, I made them with 1 cup of peacans and 1/2 cup coconut. They turned out absolutely wonderful. They are different from your traditional butter tarts and I think that they taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Wonderfully yummy! I added dried cranberries, and the end result was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
These are the best butter tarts! When you are not a raisin fan butter tarts can be a put off. I used pecans and all butter (no margarine) I have used this recipe for the past couple x-mas's. YUM PS I buy the frozen tart shells to make my life a little easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SZOWTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LinnieDeLuxe
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This recipe is SO EASY!!! I am a total newbie to cooking so I was slightly nervous about taking this on. However, this recipe is SO FORGIVING - I highly suggest it! I used the recipe as listed, with the exception of the nuts and margarine: I used pecans instead of walnuts and butter instead of margarine. When I pulled my original batch out of the oven I realized I had forgotten the allspice…OOPS. I just sprinkled a little bit of the missing spice on top of each tart and they morphed into little bites of brilliance. With my previous error corrected I was still hopped up on my sugary success so I had to try these tasty tarts again. This time, I made the "naughty" version: I swapped the coconut out for 3/4 of a cup of drunk raisins. TO MAKE DRUNK RAISINS: put your raisins in a saucepan and add rum until the raisins are covered (I used Sailor Jerry's because it's delicious). Simmer the raisins in the rum until they are fat and full of liquor. Dump them right into your butter tart mixture. Swapping the coconut for raisins took these delectable little tarts from a mouthwatering modern edge to the timeless and tasty traditional butter tart. FOR MY AWESOME AMATEUR FRIENDS: I would suggest melting the butter on the lowest setting possible. It will give you lots of time to beat your eggs and make sure your spices are lined up and ready to go. Wink, wink, nudge, nudge. :) Personally, I prefer the naughty version: tradition trumps trendy every time. ENJOY! L
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinnieDeLuxe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Peanut Butter Pie

Check out this no-bake, icebox pie!

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States