Butter Tarts II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
this was an excellent recipe, although I found out on all three times I made this that you need to reduce the final cooking time by half and at a much lower heat or else they over cook, then they turn out wonderful. I have already made 10 batches since I used this receipe and my freinds and family love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
This is a very simple recipe for something so good! I left out the lemon juice, I thought it might take away from the sweetness I was looking for. I also cut the cooking time in half, that's very important. I started out at 400 for 10 minutes like the original directions suggest, but then I only cooked them for another 10 minutes at 350 instead of 20 to 25. I've had one to eat already, I didn't give it enough time to completely set so the filling was a bit runny still. They need a good hour before the syrup thickens. I had left over pie crust in the freezer from another recipe I worked with over Easter, so all of this came together very quickly. I will make this recipe again, but next time I'll trim my nails first - it was hard to press the crust into the tins without making slits, hehe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Super easy and delisious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tidem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I loved the simplicity of this recipe. I made this with my mini muffin pan and cut out pre-made pie dough into tiny circles and filled them according to the recipe. The only thing I did not like was the lemony after taste from the extract. Next time I will only use vanilla- otherwise...YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
These are scrumptious! I left out the lemon extract the second time I made them and we liked them even better. Also good with pecans substituted for the raisins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Delicious! I omitted the lemon and vanilla extract, as well as the raisins. I put a pecan half on the tops, and baked at 400 for 10 minutes, and at 350 for 15 minutes and mine were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
This one is close to tasting like traditional Canadian butter tarts, but does not include walnuts and is not runny enough in the center if the recipe is followed to the T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I was hesitant to use this recipe as didn't seem to be traditional. Well, throw those worries away! My Fiancée playfully proposed again after his first one...and as he gobbled up the last one announced "Make these again...tomorrow!". I used a whipped shortbread for the tart shell. (Pastry isn't my strong point.) It worked out really well. I forgot to put in the lemon juice and they were still amazing! Great recipe, thank you so much for sharing! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buggaboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
These were quick and easy to whip up. As recommended, I omitted the lemon extract and did the second bake for only 10-12min only. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I have always wanted to make butter tarts, and this was a great first try. I had my husband go out and buy me lemon extract. Don't waste your money, it's really not that nice of a taste. Will be leaving that out the next time I make them. Also, i used pre-made mini tart shells and only cooked them for about 12 minutes instead of 20-25 min. Oh- I almost forgot, a little to heavy on the raisins for me. Otherwise a nice butter tart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weekendchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States