Butter Tarts II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
i make these all the time. they're quick, easy and don't last long. definitely recommend for anyone with a sweet tooth. i alternate raisins and pecans and do half a batch of each. love em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I loved these. I did not add the Lemon Extract as I did not have any and they turned out wonderful. I cooked mine for about 14 minutes and that was plenty of time. I also used pre made tart shells. Highley Recommend this tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
This one is close to tasting like traditional Canadian butter tarts, but does not include walnuts and is not runny enough in the center if the recipe is followed to the T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
An easy recipe to follow. Perfect for those store-bought tart shells. The filling did "puff-up" for me in the oven, but goes down as it cools off. Excellent recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
These were all right but I have had better. I left out the lemon as a previous poster had mentioned. I think I would try a different recipe next time. It also seemed like I had an awful lot of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
This is a very simple recipe for something so good! I left out the lemon juice, I thought it might take away from the sweetness I was looking for. I also cut the cooking time in half, that's very important. I started out at 400 for 10 minutes like the original directions suggest, but then I only cooked them for another 10 minutes at 350 instead of 20 to 25. I've had one to eat already, I didn't give it enough time to completely set so the filling was a bit runny still. They need a good hour before the syrup thickens. I had left over pie crust in the freezer from another recipe I worked with over Easter, so all of this came together very quickly. I will make this recipe again, but next time I'll trim my nails first - it was hard to press the crust into the tins without making slits, hehe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
These were great little tarts! I agree that the cooking time was a little too long. I didn't read all of the reviews before I made them and mine were just a little too brown. I left out the raisins and thought they were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
These are scrumptious! I left out the lemon extract the second time I made them and we liked them even better. Also good with pecans substituted for the raisins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
This was the fastest & yummiest recipe ever. My husand LOVED these butter tarts and has already asked me to make another batch. I did cut the cooking time by 8 minutes, they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
this was an excellent recipe, although I found out on all three times I made this that you need to reduce the final cooking time by half and at a much lower heat or else they over cook, then they turn out wonderful. I have already made 10 batches since I used this receipe and my freinds and family love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States