Butter Tarts I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
HA! I've been looking for this recipe for years! This is great!! I followed the other reviewers' advice and put the raisins in the bottom and then poured the filling over that. They plumped up really nicely. Also, I used muffin tins and just lined those with pastry. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2000
The flavor of these butter tarts is quite nice. Next time I make them, I will cut the baking time back because my husband prefers his butter tarts quite a bit softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2000
EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
Flavor is very good I found when filling tart shells that the raisins were not eveny shared in tart, so putting raisins in shells before filling is a better way. I also plumped the raisins in a little brandy for special treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
Great but I doubt the need to grease the tins as there is enough fat in most pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dahlitsa
Home Town: Odessa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Awesome! I followed the advice of putting the raisins in the shells first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Easy and they taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Essex, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Loved these! Just like my Aunt Marg used to make! Definitely keep the raisins and divide them into the shells before filling so as not to have clumps of raisins in some and not in others...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I've tried with nuts alone as my step-daughter won't eat raisins. Next batch exactly as above 5/5. 3rd batch did raisins and almonds cut down brown sugar by a 1/3 rd of a cup and replaced with maple syrup. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shareasmiletoday
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
My family super enjoyed these. I made them in an extra-small muffin tin. Two bites of heavenly goodness. Added 2 raisins to the tarts prior to pouring the gooey goodness. Also,skipped the walnuts and added one whole pecan on the top after filling the tarts. Only because my husband prefers pecans over walnuts. Finally cooked in a preheated 200F oven for 15 minutes, then without removing the butter tarts, turn the oven up to 350F, for an additional 15 minutes. Soooooo yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shareasmiletoday

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States