Butter Tarts I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2003
Flavor is very good I found when filling tart shells that the raisins were not eveny shared in tart, so putting raisins in shells before filling is a better way. I also plumped the raisins in a little brandy for special treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2000
The flavor of these butter tarts is quite nice. Next time I make them, I will cut the baking time back because my husband prefers his butter tarts quite a bit softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
These are the best using 1/4 c butter and 1/3c corn syrup or maple syrup. Recipe made 12 large butter tarts, I cook them 8 min at 400 then 5 min at 350. I like mine gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
HA! I've been looking for this recipe for years! This is great!! I followed the other reviewers' advice and put the raisins in the bottom and then poured the filling over that. They plumped up really nicely. Also, I used muffin tins and just lined those with pastry. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
These are so yummy and so very easy as i used premade tart shells. The cook time is waayyyy to high I did mine for 10 mins at 400 and then about 10-15 mins on 350. I tripled the recipe and it made 60 medium sized tarts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I was looking for a recipe that replicated my mothers. This one was the closest, except hers is a stove top cooked recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAIROTAIVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2000
EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Excellent! I added the raisins to the shells, and then poured the mix over. I also used home made pastry as opposed to the premade...My husband and kids LOVED them! Definately a keeper here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Awesome! I followed the advice of putting the raisins in the shells first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsCdnFrog
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I used chopped pecans instead of walnuts and only put them in some of the tarts not all. Everything else I did the same. I used the Best Ever Pie crust from this site (awsome crust!) and they tasted nice... not to sweet, just how I like them. My tarts did overflow a bit... think I filled them a bit too full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States