Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This is a very good recipe and I have been using it for a while. The only thing I changed was to add some vanilla. I think the vanilla gives it a fuller flavour. These are a favorite in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
I have been using a recipe given to me by a professional baker for over 20 years. This one is the only recipe to beat mine. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
These were wonderful! I did add the vanilla as another person suggested and I was glad I did. My only wish is I could put more "stuff" in them. But since they rise quite high while baking, it is important not to over-fill them, or you will end up with a mess! TIP: If you are starting off with frozen shells, pop them in the oven for 5 minutes UNFILLED to ensure they will be fully cooked when the filling is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2000
These are the best butter tarts I have ever eatten. My whole family loved them they will be the tart's I make for christmas every year from now on. They are very creamy not sugar. Try these. Michele
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
VERY YUMMMMMMY! The only thing I do different is I sprinkle the raisins and nuts on the bottom of every shell first (to make every one even) then spoon 1 tablespoon of the filling in each shell. They won't over flow or make a mess with that measurement. Works out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
AWESOME!!!!!!I used all NUTS instead of Raisins -- 1/2 cup walnuts and 1 1/4 CUP of PECANS. Recipe could probably make about 50 2 inch tarts. I also omitted one egg yolK AND used 2%milk instead of cream. This probably shaved about 9 grams of fat off of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
These were good but not the best I've ever had (or made). I've lost my old recipe and this one looked similar. It's almost as good but not quite. Next time, I think I'd use either pecans or raisings but not both. And I had to cook these for 15-20 minutes longer than the recipe indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
Oh My! This has to be the best butter tart recipe I have ever tried! A real treat! Thank you so much for sharing this with us! Kris Maksymiw Ontario, Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
I was making tarts tonight and found out that I was missing corn syrup so I went in search of a recipe. Found this one and had to modify it for what I had on hand (plain 0% yogurt for the cream) and 1/2c brown sugar 1/2c splenda. I also put raisins, almonds and coconut in the shells. Much to my surprise these turned out great. And I used real butter so they have a great buttery taste. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freya

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Excellent recipe but watch your time. It is easy to over bake these tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States