Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I found this recipe unbearably sweet. I would reduce the brown sugar by 1/2 cup. My frozen tart shells which were thawed did not cook even though I baked at 325 for 30 mins. Next time I will reduce sugar and bake longer or at higher temp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
These are perfect!! Authentic French Canadian Recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Very simple recipe to follow and they were delicious! I did add the vanilla like someone else suggested and I'm glad I did.When the recipe says to only fill the tarts half full listen as they do rise up alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Very good! I baked these for my dad who is very picky and doesn't like change! He always makes butter tarts from his mom's recipe (which is also very good), but I wanted to try another recipe. While I was baking them, I even told my husband "DON'T tell my dad that I used another recipe!" But he loved them! I omitted the walnuts because my dad probably would have disowned me if I made them with any kind of nuts :) Very good. Easy to make if you use store-bought tart shells. Next time I will use my dad's recipe to use the tart shells, and this recipe to use the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eunoia
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
So good and so easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eunoia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Tasted great. I didn't have cream on hand so I used 1 TBSP 2% milk and 1 TBSP vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I thought these were one of the best I have made so far, and everyone agreed at Christmas time. Although I did not put the walnuts in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
These were wonderful! I did add the vanilla as another person suggested and I was glad I did. My only wish is I could put more "stuff" in them. But since they rise quite high while baking, it is important not to over-fill them, or you will end up with a mess! TIP: If you are starting off with frozen shells, pop them in the oven for 5 minutes UNFILLED to ensure they will be fully cooked when the filling is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
True butter tarts always have corn syrup in them!!! Butter tarts are a Canadian born dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I needed a recipe without corn syrup and I found this one. It's very tasty, very delicious! It's a hit and it's a definite keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATKOMP

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States