Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
this is the first time I made these tarts and got lots of compliments. My husband said they were the best ones he has ever had (and he has had a lot of different tarts)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Very easy recipe, my only change was to add rum extract and I also added a little vanilla (so now its a drunken butter tart) As for my rating nothing gets 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I substituted pecans for walnuts however when you add any nuts (in the 1 cup range) you take away from the the nice runny, smooth consistency. Nonetheless, it was a hit as far as my wife is concerned (I eat low carb). Next time I will place a layer of cranberry compote (which we always have on hand) on the base before adding the tart mixture. I will also place halved pecans on top instead of chopped ones in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Lifeguard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Wonderful recipe. I too added a splash of vanilla to batter and also added pinch of salt... Mixed up the batter by using half golden raisins and half currents .... Very nice presentation when dusted with confectionary sugar ... Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Easy recipe and so yummy. Only problem was that I had to bake a second batch because my family couldn't stop eating the first one. They are truly delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Good basic recipe. For this many tarts, I add 1/4 cup corn syrup, 1 tsp vanilla, and 1/8 tsp salt to the batter. I do not add the nuts and currants to the batter, I put them in the shell evenly ahead of time so every one is the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
First time making butter tarts, turned out fabulous. Doubled the recipe and used the prefab shells, made 80 tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
To prevent the overflow, lower your oven temp to 305. Cook the same time as indicated but you're able to fill to 3/4 full with out the lava flow. I add a tsp of vanilla and 1/4 tsp salt. Good recipe. I've made several times and they disappear fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltokarchuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I made these today and they are soooooo delicious! I followed some the other suggestions and added 1 tsp of vanilla and put my raisins and nuts on the bottom of the pastry first. I will definitely be using this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Peanut Butter Bars I

If you love chocolate and peanut butter together, these are the bars for you.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States