Butter Tart Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
This recipe was great. It reminded me of when I was a kid when my grandmother made butter tart squares. It brings me back to the good old days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Don't change anything! I lost my mom's recipe and I am sure this is the exact one. Nice and gooey filling. Perfection. When you don't have time to make a proper tart with a pasty shell, use this one for a quick treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
taste of these is OK - but filling was overcooked at 350 degrees after being in there for just under 35 minutes. sides are all caramelized and sticky as a result. base falls apart. i would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Very easy to make and they turned out great. The toping was soft but did not make a mess and the shortbread crust not too crumbly. I only cooked the topping for 35 minutes and next time I may try baking them a little bit less for an even softer topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Excellent recipe! The only thing I did differently, was omit the raisins because my husband prefers these bars without them. These bars are a new favourite and will be made again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Absolutely awesome. Moist, chewy, everything you want either in a square or a tart! I only had 1/2 cup of raisins, and that was lots. I can't imagine a full cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
These were great and easy to make, HOWEVER I found that adding the vinegar gave it a bitter aftertaste and not as much the buttery aftertaste you want from butter tarts...i have made a recipe before without the vinegar and it turned out fine.........has anyone else experienced this or know why the vinegar is added?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
these are wonderful....nice and gooey and not overly sweet like others i have made, i am sure that they are going to be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Great stuff! The filling and dough were both tasty. I didn't add raisins, and found I liked them better that way, but it could be a matter of personal preference. Quick and easy, and just as good as tarts (maybe better!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~IndigoMouse~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
this recipe is amazing!! it takes no time at all!! Easy for your kids to help you with! Tastes great too!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States