Butter Tart Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
They came out tasting fantastic, dispite the fact that I screwed them up a little bit. Distracted by my mother who came over to chat, I accidently added the baking soda into the rasin mix on the stove. Oops! Then, when mixing the batter, it became a very strange texture I could only describe as gluey, with little white chunks in it. I'm not sure if that's how it's suppose to be or not, but as I said, they taste pretty darn good. My grand-mother loves them (she is a buttertart fanatic!) so I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b-unit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
My family is addicted to these muffins, if I don't make them once a week they complain. Excellent dessert muffins. I do use 1 c. regular flour and the rest cake flour, and I double the recipie every time I make it. Thanks for the great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene Lewis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Cloverdale, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I had never heard of a Butter Tart before trying this recipe. However, after trying these little bites of heaven, I feel I may need to look into Butter Tarts. The unique preperation for these muffins make them a nice change from your run-of-the-mill blueberry variety. Some reviewers noted that the maple flavor wasn't strong...I used pure maple syrup and it really takes these muffins to the next level! I took these into work and they were gone in no time. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katydid106

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Wonderful muffin - ravished by my children and husband. I did make a mistake and put the maple syrup into the batter before baking. I realised the error and added more syrup to the tops when done. I think it gave it a bit more of a maply flavour than otherwise and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This review is for all you high-altitude bakers. These muffins are good. By cooking the raisins they absorb the liquid and work well with the texture. I used cake flour in this recipe as it often seems to work better in high altitude. However, I must note that you will absolutely need to lower the oven temp to 350 to get a nice rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalyssa10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gracey
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Good, but nothing special... They were too blunt for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brandenburg, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Moist texture with crunchy exterior. Much closer to bread pudding in flavour than a butter tart. Definitely enhanced by the flavour of the maple syrup. I made these in mini-muffin tins for a Tea, reducing the cooking temperature to 350 and the cooking time to approx. 11 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This was very tasty. I used mixed dried friut instead of rasins. Although I really did enjoy the cake, it was nothing to write home about... I don't think using just rasins would have made a difference. There just wans't that special "something".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
A little extra work, but worth the effort!! LOVE, Love, Loved this recipe. I make it often and always bring to bake sales too! Yummmmmmmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States